Topic Title: Intermittent Black Screen lasting 1-2s only at 4k. 290X, xfire on and off
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/21/2014 04:17 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/21/2014 04:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chaharyar
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/20/2014

This issue is occurring whether I'm gaming or not. It will happen even when I'm just idling on the desktop. Seems to occur more when a 3D game is running.


I thought it was crossfire perhaps, but disabling that still results in the black screening.

Issue only happens at 3840x2160 (Connecting through displayport). If I lower the res, the problem entirely goes away.


Anyone else having this issue? 

 

System:

OS: Windows 8.1

Driver: 14.4WHQL

Motherboard: Asus Rampage IV Black Edition

CPU: 4820k

GPU: 4 x Sapphire 290x

Ram: 16GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2400

SSD: 2 X Intel 530 240GB

Monitor: Samsung U28D590D

 05/21/2014 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

I wonder how your PSU is feeling with 4 power pigs hooked up

You CPU is probably choking on the load too

 



-------------------------

 05/21/2014 04:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chaharyar
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/20/2014

I have 2 PSU, totalling 2250W. Power is distributed well, so that isn't an issue. And I've also completely turned off others and only had 1 running and still have the same issue.

 05/21/2014 05:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

try driver 13.12 and see if that works better

can you take a pic of your rig and post it here?

 



-------------------------

 05/21/2014 05:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chaharyar
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/20/2014

I'll give it a shot but 13.12 has a whole slew of other issues when it comes to 4k res.

The games I've tried just don't work well at all, but maybe it'll help determine if it's a driver issue or what. 

 05/21/2014 06:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

recent drivers have been real hit and miss

make sure you have a backup in case they brick you rig

 



-------------------------

 05/22/2014 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chaharyar
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/20/2014

Yesterday, I didn't black screen even once! I never ended up switching to the older drivers. This is really sporadic, and can't seem to figure out why it's happening.

It was working fine in xfire and single mode =\ 

 05/22/2014 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chaharyar
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/20/2014

And today, without changing anything. I keep getting the black screen every few minutes. 

Anyone know who I can get some real support on this? I submitted an issue, but I want to know if I should be thinking of RMA-ing my cards or something. 

 05/23/2014 07:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
outsidefactor
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/23/2014

I am having this issue too. I have a support ticket in with Sapphire.

I've tried both 13.12c and 14.4 drivers and both were a crapshoot. I've done a heap of searching online and there are two suggested causes I've found:

1) DisplayPort cables not 1.2 compatible

2) Stupid Powertune keeps changing the clock rates, which disrupts the DisplayPort

I have tried both the cable that came with monitor and a spare bought last month, same result with both. I wish that CCC showed the current stable DP link rate. If it was failing back to 1.1a it might explain it.

I've tried disabling ULPS, fixing the clock rate with Trixx, all to no avail. The only thing that works is changing to 2560x1440.

So far, my 4k monitor experience has been less than joyous.

 05/23/2014 04:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chaharyar
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/20/2014

OK, so this might end up being a driver issue then.

I agree, but we are the early adopters I suppose. Which monitor are you using? I'm using the Samsung U28D590D?
 

 05/24/2014 02:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
outsidefactor
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/23/2014

Yeah, the Samsung was my choice too.

 

Just for a laugh I disconnected my second monitor (a SA950D connected via dual link DIV) and tried 14.4 again and after a reboot... no more flickering!

This is definately a re-emergence of the same issue people were having with 2560x1440 on older cards. Mixing displayport connected devices and DVI/HDMI results in weird interaction between PowerTune (as it dynamically adjusts the GPU clock) and DisplayPort.

It amazes me that manufactureres can put "4k support" on the side of their products and then fail to do basic testing when the devices finally arrive. It is totally foreseeable that seomeone who is willing to have a 4k monitor would want a second monitor. Additionally, when there is only one dsiplayport on the back of the card and DP hubs are STILL hard to get, it is completely predictable that the second monitor MUST be connected via DVI or HDMI.

 05/24/2014 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

There is a real gold rush mentality with vendors trying to cash in with the 4K format.

BD is still not shipping for 4K yet, then what TV has HDMI 2.0 on it? How many HDMI 2.0 ports are available?

I have seen lots of issues with multiple panels mainly as many games are not designed to be run that way.



-------------------------

 05/25/2014 03:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
outsidefactor
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/23/2014

And now, for no apparant reason, the display port is bumming out again. I had been playing for hours, no issues and suddenly after a reboot it's back, even with only one screen!

Very annoying. 

 05/25/2014 08:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

I have played only a couple of games of late due to dodgy drivers myself

which game(s) are causing problems?

 



-------------------------

 05/25/2014 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chaharyar
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/20/2014

Yea, its very inconsistent so it's hard to figure out what the real problem is. I keep coming back to drivers though.

It's not just in a game, itll happen just in Windows too 

 05/26/2014 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
outsidefactor
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/23/2014

Yeah, that's the first question (what game is affected) everyone seems to ask: it's not any game, it's a base functionality issue. It blinks when idling on the desktop, in games, watching videos, whatever.

I am frustrated that there is no DisplayPort diagnostic information shown anywhere in CCC or in the driver diagnositc and info pages. That might significantly simplify diagnosing this problem. In fact, while we seem to have been herded down the display port path, none of the important technologies are even out yet: there are no daisy chaining monitors, there is one brand of MST hub, and people outside the US have had difficulty getting support for it. DP is showing definate signs of having been rushed to market ahead of it being ready for market. It's not like they haven't had enough time: it's been on the back of several generations of card now.

I must say, if it takes much more than two weeks to get an initial answer I will be RMA'ing my cards: right now, they do not work as advertised, and I have no intention on waiting for months for AMD to do what should have already been done. As yet they haven't even ackowledged my trouble ticket, and neither have Sapphire.

 

EDIT: I am exchanging e-mails with a Sapphire support tech. I have submitted video of the issue.



Edited: 05/26/2014 at 04:15 AM by outsidefactor
 05/26/2014 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
chaharyar
Peon

Posts: 13
Joined: 05/20/2014

I'll put in a support ticket too. And I agree with you 100%. If I knew these issues were around, I would have waited for more support for 4k out there.

I would only assume when advertisement says "Supports 4k" that it actually does. This falls more in line with a product not functioning as advertised and isn't even an RMA issue, but a full out refund. 

 05/28/2014 07:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
outsidefactor
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/23/2014

And now 14.6 Beta emerges. Are you going to try it out?

I think I'll give it a go Saturday, when I'll have enough time to fix things if it crashes and burns.

 05/30/2014 02:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
outsidefactor
Peon

Posts: 18
Joined: 05/23/2014

14.6 doesn't fix it

There seem to be a lot of threads about people struggling with R9 cards. A lot of people seem to be laying the blame for their issues on VRAM issues, but my primary card has Hynix VRAM and it still happens with Xfire dissabled, so I don't think this is related.

 05/30/2014 05:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: outsidefactor And now 14.6 Beta emerges. Are you going to try it out?

 

I think I'll give it a go Saturday, when I'll have enough time to fix things if it crashes and burns.

 

Doesn't anybody use system restore anymore?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
84158 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.