Topic Title: AMD R9 270X freezes whole computer
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/23/2014 06:03 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/23/2014 06:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
qttya
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/23/2014

Graphics Card
AMD R9 270x

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
14.4, tried some earlier versions also

Operating System
Win7 64bit SP1

Issue Details
As soon as I start a game the whole pc becomes unstable, and randomly freezes, leaving me with a screen totaly black, or with grey stripes. Sometimes it recovers, but at most cases a hard reset is needed to get the system back to work. 

http://i1028.photobucket.com/albums/y350/kaminariX2/DSC03460.jpg?t=1278940928

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Alienware x51 R2

Power Supply

Standard Dell 330W PSU

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
BenQ XL2411 on DVI or HDMI

Applications and Games

Any kind of games

CPU Details
Intel core i7-4770 @ 3.4GHz

Motherboard BIOS Version
Alienware A04

System Memory Type & Amount
16GB DDR3

 

Is there anyone out there who has a smoothly working 270x? Because searching through the internet i haven't found any, but hundreds of the same issue as me, and still no solution...

 05/23/2014 06:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

That card requires a 500 watt power supply minimum. A dell 330 watt will not do.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/23/2014 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
qttya
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/23/2014

Yes, i have read that like a hundred times, and it has been proved wrong. The guys at dell, especially at alienware might know what config is enough for this card. This is a pre-built PC, do you think they would ship it, if it wouldn't work? But anyway, thanks for the effort.

PS.: I'm pretty sure, it's not a PSU issue, because people with like 850W PSU are having the same issue. 

 05/23/2014 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

Is that the card that came with the computer? The specs are showing Nvdia.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/23/2014 07:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
qttya
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/23/2014

Yes it is. 
http://www.dell.com/us/p/alienware-x51-r2/pd?oc=dpcwxy05s&model_id=alienware-x51-r2 

 05/23/2014 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

Unless your mistaken about the PS wattage, I would borrow a stronger PS and give it a try.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/08/2014 09:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
qttya
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/23/2014

Replacing the card (with a same one) solved the problem.

 06/08/2014 09:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 947
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: stumped Unless your mistaken about the PS wattage, I would borrow a stronger PS and give it a try.

 

Here's what they did Stumped:

 

Before we dive in, we want to point your attention to the large 330W power brick. This is how Dell was able to build a compact gaming machine and avoid two potential problems: size and heat. By removing the internal power supply from the equation, the X51 R2 is able to maintain a relatively svelte stature and can also run quieter since there isn't a need for a PSU fan to expel hot air.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/08/2014 10:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
leet-ice
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/08/2014

Wow.. so they sent you a new one and it's fine?

 

I basically have the same exact problem but with the 270 and a Dell XPS 8700.  I really hope getting a new one fixes my problem too..

 06/10/2014 04:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
qttya
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/23/2014

Exactly. An egnineer came, replaced the card, and it works fine since, and i hope for the rest of its life.

Statistics
88899 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.