Topic Title: XFX - R7 260X Artifacts
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/03/2014 09:40 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/03/2014 09:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vanker
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/03/2014

Good morning / afternoon / evening friends,

I bought a new video card recently (R7 xfx 260x 2 gb) and on their first test (BF 4 - with preset high) appeared some green dots on the screen (Artifacts)

Strange fact is, i ran OCCT error check mode and 0 errors found, and when i ran GPUTOOL it show the same artifacts that appear in BF4

Ps: Running BF4 and alt-tabbing to desktop gives me flickering / stuttering desk :/.
Ps2: Stock clocks. Never thought about Oc on this one.

So...


Isn't heating, since the maximum temp reached was 64.

Drivers are properly updated (clean install & 3 different versions was used [some of them gave me BSOD]). 

Mainboard : Asus M4A87TD/USB3

Chipset : AMD 870

Processor : AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ 3200   MHz  (max : 3618)

Monitor : Samsung SMBX2031N - 20 inches

Physical Memory : 8192  MB DDR3-SDRAM (2x4GB kingston)

PSU: 550w plus 80 bronze ThermalTake.
My monitor's output is VGA and my card accepts DVI and HDMI, obviously, i had to use an adapter.
But isn't adapter's fault (i tested with another card).



What do you guys think?

 06/04/2014 02:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 548
Joined: 01/15/2011

It does indeed looks like a defective R7-260X.

Is it possible to test the graphics card in another computer? (i.e. friend's computer)

What graphics card were you using before hand?

I'm asking this because it may be the power supply. Even though 550W is plenty, some of Thermaltake's power supplies are not that great in quality. There are a few reports over the years, on this forum, where a incapable power supply was the root cause of such similar issues.



-------------------------

FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Vapor-X HD 7970 + Dual-X HD 7970 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 06/04/2014 08:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vanker
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/03/2014

Sadly not :/, i moved recently, don't know anyone here...

Anyway if i ran OCCT error check and put all my video memory to test, the artifacts appear.

I was using HD 5770.

 

The thing is, i already RMA, and the reply was "works flawlessly" it's your PSU, then i bought a new one (the guy tested my PSU with the card before selling to me) and the problem still appears.

IF (if) GPU and PSU is not the problem, what else can be? 

 06/06/2014 10:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
001326
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 04/30/2014

 

Dots like that?

 

 06/07/2014 05:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vanker
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/03/2014

Nope, I can't record or take a screenshot of the artifacts, they simply don't appear. 

 

They are all RGB dots. It's like a lot of them 

 

Like grains of sand.

 06/07/2014 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 895
Joined: 09/11/2008

what OS are you using?

what I would try is a reinstall of the drivers.

go to programs and features in the control panel(W7)

double click the AMD catalyst install manager,do a CUSTOM(top one) uninstall of just the driver and CCC.

restart and then install the new drivers.Again CUSTOM and ONLY install the driver and CCC.

OH ya,and dont install the "gaming evolved/RAPTR" crap.

see if that helps at all.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/08/2014 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vanker
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/03/2014

Win 7 64bit.

 

I already tried uninstalling the drivers (clean install) and installing old versions OR updating the same with no luck.

 

But, I'll do again ;D

 

 06/08/2014 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1307
Joined: 01/31/2010

you may need to install windows fresh

windows 8.1 has a refresh windows feature that saves user files and wipes the os and programs

 



-------------------------

 06/08/2014 10:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vanker
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/03/2014

I've reinstalled O.S this weekend.

 

Wiped all my Hard Drive just to try to solve this f****ng problem, also, without luck...

 06/08/2014 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1307
Joined: 01/31/2010

probably suggests a vram problem

try reset the BIOS

if that fails, RMA the video card

 



-------------------------

 06/12/2014 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
XxBbladexX
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/12/2014

I have bought recently the exact same card and i have artifacts. freezing. crashing. and HORRIBLE FPS problems. i have no idea if its the card thats bad or the drivers. i have uninstalled cleanly the drivers and reinstalled them more than once and the problems are still there. any help please?

 06/13/2014 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vanker
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/03/2014

maybe the problem is the same as mine....

 

Defective Video Card ... 

 

i just recorded a video and sent to vendor to see if i can RMA

 06/14/2014 12:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1307
Joined: 01/31/2010

I use a digital camera, so that I can show anomolies reguardless if the OS is even loaded or if artifacts are extant

print screen does not necessarily notice artifacts

 



-------------------------

Statistics
86445 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.