Topic Title: [Resolved] PC won't boot with R7 265 and R9 270. But boots with 5770
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/15/2014 12:10 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/15/2014 12:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaveh
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 06/14/2014

I just purchased the XFX Core Edition R7-265A-CNF4 Radeon R7 265 2GB 25.

My PC won't boot.

I changed my PSU from 500w to 600W (Thermaltake TR2 600W. Model TR2-600NL2NC) and my PC still won't boot.

I purchased a 2d new graphic card (R9 270), and I had the same problem (PC won't boot). So the XFX card might not be defective.

All fans are turning but the motherboard seems to not detect the graphic card. I don't hear the typical "bip".

 

When I put back my previous graphic card (Radeon 5770) my PC boots and works perfectly.

 

 

 

 

 OS: Window 7 64bit

MOB:  H61M-E23(B3) by MSI

CPU: Intel I3 2100

RAM: 6GB

PSU: Thermaltake TR2 600W. Model TR2-600NL2NC

Graphic cards:

Realtek radeon 5770 (works)

XFX Core Edition R7-265A-CNF4 Radeon R7 265 2GB 25 (won’t boot)

 



Edited: 06/20/2014 at 11:33 PM by kaveh
 06/15/2014 08:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 134
Joined: 11/11/2012

If you don't have the latest version, a motherboard BIOS update may help.

.

 06/15/2014 10:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaveh
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 06/14/2014

According to msi live update software, I have the latest bios. I also took out the battery of my mob for a few minutes and it didn't solve anything. Is my new 600w psu not good enough?

 06/16/2014 10:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 134
Joined: 11/11/2012

Hmm - Won't boot into Windows at all ? No BIOS screen or Safe Mode option ?

Thermaltak don't have a great reputation for reliabity here in Oz, but your model has 50Amps (600W) on the +12V rail which should be enough power, and the 5770 has similar power requirements to the R9 cards, so if the R9 265/270 and power connector are fully seated they should be working as well.

 

 

 

 06/19/2014 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaveh
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 06/14/2014

No boot at all...

I called "Nerds We Can Fix That" to have them check my PC. On the phone, after a quick conversation, the guy told my my graphic card isn't compatible with my MOB (without asking my MOB model).

I think I'll have to returne the graphic card and buy another one (like Gefore 750 for example)

 06/19/2014 05:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaveh
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 06/14/2014

Originally posted by: kaveh No boot at all...

 

I called "Nerds We Can Fix That" to have them check my PC. On the phone, after a quick conversation, the guy told my my graphic card isn't compatible with my MOB (without asking my MOB model).

 

I think I'll have to returne the graphic card and buy another one (like Gefore 750 for example)

 

 

I just got a reply for XFX support telling me the card should be compatible with my MOB:

"Hello this card uses similar technology of an AMD 7850, looking at your motherboard it would seem that it should be compatible. Would you like to send the card in for testing just to make sure if the card works or not?"

 06/19/2014 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1159
Joined: 01/31/2010

how much 12v capacity does your psu have, you will need about 40A for one gaming video card

 



-------------------------

 06/19/2014 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12259
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's not a power supply issue. Are you sure you are using Bios 12.3? Still, a 3 year old lower end motherboard may not work with modern hardware, especially since the latest BIOS was released before the R200 series.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/20/2014 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1159
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: black_zion It's not a power supply issue. Are you sure you are using Bios 12.3? Still, a 3 year old lower end motherboard may not work with modern hardware, especially since the latest BIOS was released before the R200 series.

 

I have had my fill with crappy power supplies, so i always start there

i have run modern video cards on old rigs, as long as there is adequate power my gtx 660 Ti runs fine.

if the  OP can upload some crashdump files.....

 



-------------------------

 06/20/2014 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaveh
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 06/14/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion It's not a power supply issue. Are you sure you are using Bios 12.3? Still, a 3 year old lower end motherboard may not work with modern hardware, especially since the latest BIOS was released before the R200 series.

 

Good catch. My BIOS dated from 2012. I updated the BIOS to the 12.3 and the  MOB did recognize the card. Everything is working fine.

The MSI live update software is a piece of Sh... It was telling me I have the latest version of the BIOS. I had to use a usb flash to be able to update the BIOS (that another long story. I started by using an SD card, and the bios flash got interupted. I went through a lot of hassle to find out that I need to use a USB flash drive).

 

 

 

 06/21/2014 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12259
Joined: 04/17/2008

You never ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever ever update a BIOS, or even check for an update, in Windows. Always do it manually and update at boot time. All motherboards should be able to update a BIOS from within BIOS now.

As for power supplies, TT isn't the greatest brand, and I would recommend changing it to a reputable brand (as the only TT PSU I've owned had a 12v undervolt to 11.7v), but with a 600w rated capability and a draw of half that, I wouldn't have suspected it in this case.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84352 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.