Topic Title: AMD Driver Stopped Responging .. tried everything .. same problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/17/2014 03:18 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/17/2014 03:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
flaviusxl
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/17/2014

First of all, I want to say I READ THE FAQ, tried pretty much everything and still have the problem.

So this is 3 weeks since I got the GPU Sapphire R9 270 2GB.

The other specs for my PC are:

  • CPU: Amd FX 8320
  • PSU: Corsair RM 750W
  • RAM: 4GB DDR3 1366 (for now)
  • SSD: Samsung 840 Evo
  • Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-97A-UD3P

All new Except rams!

Since I got the Graphics card I started getting AMD Driver has stopped and recovered from an error.

Sometimes I can play any game (Diablo 3, Dota 2, Metro LL, Battlefield 4) at ultra and it runs fine for hours .. but if I alt tab or something like that bam .. black screen 3-5 seconds .. I get the erorr and when I get back to game I hear sound but no video .. only way is to close game with task manager.

Now this happens even more frequently doing simple trivial tasks like while simply playing a video with flash player online screen freezes for seconds and I get the error or just small 1-sec spikes during the video.

In these 3 weeks I've tried everything I could with the information from forums, youtube etc. simply nothing.

I'm at the edge of desparation and sending it to warranty it's my last option since it will take a long time and leave me without a running PC.

What I've tried :

  • windows fix-it
  • the gpu memmory timer for freeze with regedit
  • unplug-replug everything on the motherboard
  • reinstalling drivers with driver cleaner(and some other driver cleaners from all previous gpu's I had)
  • installing older versions of drivers
  • bios optimised defaults
  • modifying the driver file in system 32 folder(atikmdag.sys)
  • delete Chrome gpu files and/or use other browser
  • memory test
  • bunch of other stuff I don't remember now ...

After all this as I said I'm pretty close to losing all hope .. the most likely scenario seems to be either Voltage problems(although the PSU ran fine for 3 weeks with another GPU and is a solid PSU as you can see) or a faulty broken GPU came from factory.

What else should/can I try. Please help me in any way you can think of I want to try everything before sending it back to warranty.

 06/17/2014 03:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7176
Joined: 11/13/2009

As far as the video/flash player thing...make sure you have the latest flash and disable hardware acceleration in your browser. In IE go to tools > internet options > advanced and select software. Firefox has similar option in the general tab. Since you said you read through the FAQ...did you miss the thread about TDR?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/18/2014 03:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
flaviusxl
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/17/2014

So even after reinstalling windows the problem persist. any other solutions ?

 06/19/2014 02:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ashleylai87
Peon

Posts: 33
Joined: 11/26/2013

Originally posted by: flaviusxl So even after reinstalling windows the problem persist. any other solutions ?

 



Have you try to set the gpu's memory clock speed to maximum yet?

Read more on here
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=173579&enterthread=y&STARTPAGE=2

Don't forget to report back here if you find the 'solution' working.

 06/19/2014 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1176
Joined: 01/31/2010

grab a spare hard disk and try a fresh install of windows and see if the TDR error still surface

if that clears it up, backup and install windows clean

if not then try reset you BIOS and if that fails, start swapping parts

 



-------------------------

 06/19/2014 03:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
flaviusxl
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 06/17/2014

Already did that still the same.

 

Start swapping hardware parts you mean ? 

Statistics
84721 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.