Topic Title: connecting 3 monitors to 7900 radeon series
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/17/2014 09:15 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/17/2014 09:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mp108
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/17/2014

Hello

I know this has already been asked, but I still find all the configurations hard to understand being a complete noob.

I currently have 2 monitors attached like this:

  1. DVI(monitor)->DVI(pc)
  2. DVI(monitor)->DVI-to-miniDisplayPort converter (passive, I think)
  3. DVI(monitor)->??
So off I went and got another passive dongle for a 3rd monitor and plugged it into the spare miniDP and of course it didn't work. That cost like 25 quid and is non-refundable. Arghh.
So before I spend anything more, do I simply need an "active" DVI-to-miniDP dongle for this to work? Or is it that I'm using the two DP inputs, and should be using DVI->HDMI instead?
Thanks in advance

 06/18/2014 06:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1461
Joined: 07/13/2009

Unless it's a Sapphire card which explicitly says it supports three non-DP displays, then you need an active adapter for that mix.

 

 06/18/2014 03:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mp108
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/17/2014

Originally posted by: Thanny Unless it's a Sapphire card which explicitly says it supports three non-DP displays, then you need an active adapter for that mix.

 

 

 

 

Thanks Thanny... It's a 7950, I don't think it's Sapphire.

 06/19/2014 10:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mp108
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/17/2014

After having bought an active adapter this doesn't seem to work either

 

  1. DVI(monitor)->DVI(pc)
  2. DVI(monitor)->DVI-to-miniDisplayPort converter (passive)
  3. DVI(monitor)->DVI-to-miniDisplayPort converter (active)
Monitor just doesn't get detected.
So back to old question, does monitor 3 need to be on hdmi (active or passive?) OR 2 needs to be active too.

 



Edited: 06/19/2014 at 10:54 AM by mp108
 06/21/2014 07:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mp108
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/17/2014

Update.

This is weird. So now I have

  1. DVI(monitor)->DVI(pc)
  2. DVI(monitor)->DVI-to-miniDisplayPort converter (active)
  3. DVI(monitor)->DVI-to-miniDisplayPort converter (active)
Only (1) works, other 2 are dead.
  1. DVI(monitor)->DVI(pc)
  2. DVI(monitor)->DVI-to-miniDisplayPort converter (active)
Only (1) works.
  1. DVI(monitor)->DVI-to-miniDisplayPort converter (active)
Doesn't work at all.
  1. DVI(monitor)->DVI(pc)
  2. DVI(monitor)->DVI-to-miniDisplayPort converter (passive)
  3. DVI(monitor)->DVI-to-miniDisplayPort converter (active)
(1) and (2) work.
£75 later I'm 3 cables heavy and still no closer to figuring this out.
 06/25/2014 09:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mp108
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/17/2014

SOLUTION: This video was very helpful for complete novices like me: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jf0X0lNFmgw

Nothing to do with active/passive cables. All i needed was 2 cheap mDP-to-DP cables. So the working setup is now:

  1. DVI(mon)->DVI(pc)
  2. DP(mon)->mDP(pc)
  3. ditto
Works like a dream.

Statistics
86489 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.