Topic Title: R7 240 Black Screen during game play
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/21/2014 03:32 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/21/2014 03:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jarjar182
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/19/2014

Graphics Card
MSI R7 240 2GD3 LP

Stock No over clocking


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
Driver Version: 13.251.0.0

Cant get CCC to work properly

Operating System
Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit 

Issue Details
Game wont show picture just black screen music will play and will change cursor if game requires a special cursor

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Dell 0RY007

Intel G33 (Bearlake-G) + ICH9R
Power Supply

http://diablotek.com/v2.0/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=2&category_id=25&flypage=

tpflypage.tpl&page=shop.product_details&product_id=36&vmcchk=

1&Itemid=2

CPU Details
Intel Core 2 Duo E4500

2 CPU Cores


Motherboard BIOS Version

System Model: Inspiron 530

BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG



Edited: 06/22/2014 at 05:26 PM by jarjar182
 06/21/2014 03:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

NOTE! Please do not copy/paste DirectX Diagnostic Reports into your post.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 06/21/2014 04:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jarjar182
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/19/2014

There i fixed sorry i didnt read the rules or guides :/

 06/21/2014 04:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12879
Joined: 04/17/2008

Has this happened ever since you put in the video card? You're talking about a 7 year old prefab computer using modern hardware, there is a strong possibility no modern card will work correctly.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/21/2014 04:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7426
Joined: 11/13/2009

It looks like the latest driver version for Vista is the 13.12. I would suggest that the first thing to do is, run Windows Update and install the relevent "optional" and 'suggested' updates..there are some netframework and wdm updates there. Then do a clean install of the driver suite.

 To perform a 'clean install' of AMD graphics drivers:

1. IMPORTANT: All Windows Updates should be current, including the 'optional/suggested' updates
2. IMPORTANT: Disable all anti-virus/ad blockers/anti-malware/ anti-anything before trying to install
3. IMPORTANT: Netframework is required and must be the latest version. (from Windows Update)


Create a system restore point before, just in case.

Download the drivers for your computer to the desktop. Follow steps 1-5 ( http://support.amd.com/en-us/download ).
 Do not use 'auto-detect and install.

Delete existing drivers from your computer:

In computer control panel select 'uninstall a program'

For computers with Intel processors:
Select AMD install manager and choose 'express uninstall all AMD software'
Including the install manager.

For computers with AMD processors:
Select AMD install manager and 'custom uninstall' the graphics drivers and CCC only.

Reboot into 'safe mode'
In safe mode run DDU (uninstaller)  http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/display_driver_uninstaller_download.html
Select AMD graphics, analyse and delete all it finds.

Reboot

Install the new driver suite.

 Reboot

 

 Edit: As noted by BZ the OS and CPU are getting long in the tooth. For an example, if you had Windows 7, you would be using driver version 14.4/14.6.

 .



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 06/22/2014 05:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jarjar182
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/19/2014

Still nothing so i assume i have update my os to 7 and invest in a new mother board and cpu?

Statistics
87470 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.