Topic Title: PSU for 295x2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/21/2014 08:47 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/21/2014 08:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
melons
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/21/2014

Hi i was wondering if this power supply will be enough to run a 295x2 card. Silverstone Strider Gold Evolution 1200W ST1200G?

 http://silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=321&area=en 

I cant seem to find alot of info on what power supplies are a good match.

 06/21/2014 01:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 895
Joined: 09/11/2008

That will be just fine.

http://www.hardocp.com/image.html?image=MTM5NjkxNDM2NHhtamg2eEhLbHdfMV85X2wuZ2lm

 

 

 

 

 



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/21/2014 02:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
melons
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/21/2014

Thanks for the reply. I've read a few reviews of the card saying that a 1500w psu is required. Will it matter where I plug the cables in? I have 4 available connections on the psu (indicated in blue on the psu). Thanks again.

 06/21/2014 02:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 895
Joined: 09/11/2008

Nope,It uses a single 12V 100A rail.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 06/21/2014 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
melons
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/21/2014

Thanks again. As I don't have the same amount of knowledge as you I was interested to know are there any beniefts to switching out to a psu that has multiple rails or is that a waste of money? I guess I can order the card now you've confirmed it will work with my psu. 

 06/21/2014 03:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12677
Joined: 04/17/2008

As Earnhardt said you will be fine with that unit.

That PSU is made by Enhance, and from what I've read they are mainly a server and industrial power supply manufacturer and contract manufacturer for desktop supplies. Silverstone also designs their own units and then uses contract manufacturers to make them, so they are a good brand, unlike many of the power supplies out there which are made by people in the backstreets of China with less electrical knowledge than a 13 year old nerd here in the USA. They have to say a 1500w PSU because there are still some crap units which split power between multiple rails, so to deliver the power that card needs (about 500w) you need a rail with at least 42 amps (42A x 12V = 504W), or a combination of two rails. Also it is a good idea to, whenever it is feasible, to have a power supply rated at twice your need for optimal efficiency, to counter capacitor degeneration with age, and for future expansion.

Back about 6 or 7 years ago, the ATX specification capped power supplies on the 12v rail to 18 amps each, about when the HD 2000 series came out, and graphics cards started to become very power hungry. The reason was for protection, and why mult-rail PSUs became the standard. Nowdays there is no limit, and reputable manufacturers use digital protection boards instead of simple (unreliable) fuses. But there are still plenty of garbage power supplies out there, usually rated to twice their capacity, and easily able to be spotted because they have an insane price to rated power ratio (such as 750w for $25).

If you're ever in the market for a new PSU though, I would stick with SeaSonic and Enermax units. They are expensive, but they're the best you can get.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64

Edited: 06/21/2014 at 03:41 PM by black_zion
 06/21/2014 03:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
melons
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/21/2014

Thanks black_zion. I think i have a clearer picture now. You guys have been a great help. cheers.

 06/22/2014 04:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
melons
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/21/2014

Will the included 6+2 pin PCI express cables be fine? Or should i purchase new 8pin to 8pin cables? Ive attached an image of the cables that came with thee psu. Thanks again.

 06/22/2014 06:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Nerfed

Posts: 61
Joined: 04/27/2008

The 6+2 are fine.

-------------------------

CPU =  i7 2600K @ 4.7Ghz Swiftech Apogee HD Waterblock
MB =   Asus Maximus Extreme-Z
Ram =  G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 2133 9-9-9-21-1T
GPU1 = Diamond 7970 @1200Mhz Koolance Waterblock
GPU2 = HIS 280X @ 1200Mhz EK Waterblock
Swiftech 4x120MM Rad - Swiftech MCP655 Pump

Statistics
86484 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.