Topic Title: black screen 30 sec after start up
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/27/2014 04:13 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/27/2014 04:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaiserkai
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/27/2014

running a radeon HD 6850, previously no issues at all. however just recently on start up there are black horizontal lines across the windows start up screen, and once windows 7 64bit loads, 30 seconds later the screen turns blank, computer is still running. pure gfx issue. safe mode loads fine, and when i disable or uninstall the graphics driver, on normal windows boot, it works fine. once i re-install the driver again, black screen again 30 sec after start up at normal boot. I will post specs here later when i'm back home. anyone have any ideas?



-------------------------


Edited: 06/27/2014 at 06:24 AM by kaiserkai
 06/27/2014 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

Check your monitor/ cable connection.

Check the connections/ power-sata cables inside your case.

Unplug each external usb device on at a time and test for conflicts.

Check your temps.

Clean install drivers.

 

Is your PSU adequate/ in good condition ? Does it deliver on power cleanly ?

 

Please provide full system specs and details (read the sticky).

Thanks.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23



Edited: 06/27/2014 at 11:26 AM by backFireX64
 06/27/2014 03:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kaiserkai
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/27/2014

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition 3400.0 MHz

ASRock 970 Extreme4 motherboard

8gb PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600mhz

ATI RADEON HD 6850

AMD Catalyst 2014.0417.2226.38446

FSP 550W AURUM GOLD SERIES power supply

WD 3.5' 1TB BLUE SATA 3

BIOS AMERICAN MEGATRENDS P1.20, system BIOS version 4.6

Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium (x64) OS

no overclocking

 

I just reformatted everything, installed it all fresh. once I install the graphics driver the problem occurs again, at windows loading screen there are horizontal lines and 20 seconds into windows7 loading up there's a blank screen. if i disable the graphics driver, all is normal



-------------------------
 06/27/2014 03:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

Is it the 14.4 whql driver you are using ?

 

Try the 13.12 as well.



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

 06/28/2014 01:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1299
Joined: 07/13/2009

One possibility is that you have an automatic-start service that's not responding, which will prevent Windows from loading the desktop.

Or you might have network shares that aren't available, which will likewise make Windows wait.

For the former, check your services list for automatic-start services that aren't running.  You can set anything not running to delayed-start automatic to avoid the issue.

 

 06/28/2014 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 530
Joined: 01/15/2011

Radeon HD 6850...when was the last time you took the card out and inspected it for dust build-up and any signs or wear-and-tear?



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

 06/28/2014 05:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1149
Joined: 01/31/2010

might be time for a clean install of windows, 7 tends to not last long before i am looking for my disk

8.1 seems to be much more resilient so far, and i have had it since day 1

 

 

 



-------------------------

 06/28/2014 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1038
Joined: 11/14/2010

might be time for a clean install of windows, 7 tends to not last long before i am looking for my disk

8.1 seems to be much more resilient so far, and i have had it since day 1

 

Windows 7 is a great os.

Windows 8.1 adds a little more to the experience and seems to manage system resources better.

 

What i cannot understand is why people generally think that they should compromise their experience by either downgrading or upgrading, so as to "fix" software/ hardware issues.

It's a wrong approach.

The two os are very close in code and all-around support to blame an incompatibility issue in either of them as well.

 

Or is it me being romantic ?

 

Sorry for the off-topic.

 

 



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, sapphire HD 6990 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.6 RC2 june23

Statistics
84150 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.