Topic Title: Problems with Installing New copy of windows 7
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/04/2014 03:07 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/04/2014 03:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scuffythejanitor
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/04/2014

Hey everyone i am having some trouble installing a version of windows 7 into a newly built system. The system will go to the screen where it says loading files then, starting windows but then it just becomes a black screen. I have verified the ram is not the problem as well as checked that the bios sata ports are set to AHCI. Does anyone have any ideas to get my system running? 

CPU: FX8350
GPU: r9 270
MOBO: Gigabyte 990fx-ud3p
RAM: G skill sniper
PS: 600W Corsair
HDD: 1T Seagate Barracuda 

 07/04/2014 07:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
backFireX64
Elite

Posts: 1044
Joined: 11/14/2010

What cable do you use for the monitor during installation ?

Do not use Dp.

Load fail safe defaults on BIOS, configure AHCI, configure  display signal output from the pcie slot your adapter is installed, make your boot hdd a priority, disable AMD Cool 'n' Quiet feature if you have it.

Make sure no other monitor is connected.

Do not press any keys during the whole procedure (that means the reboots as well).

Boot in safe mode if all fails, or start from scratch (format partition etc.).



-------------------------

gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev.2, core i7 975 3.9ghz (stock voltage), windows 8.1 64-bit, corsair 12gb DDR3 1600mhz 7-7-7-20 RAM, xfx HD 5970 + gigabyte HD 5970 (stock clocks), coolermaster ultimate 900w PSU.
amd catalyst 14.7 RC3 aug12

 07/04/2014 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Scuffythejanitor
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/04/2014

I am using a VGA cable from the included adapter with the video card. I have loaded the defult bios. The motherboard does not have cool and quiet feature. I cannot boot in safe mode since there is not OS on this system yet. 

Statistics
85573 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.