Topic Title: r9 280x Fan/temperature issue
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/06/2014 12:14 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/06/2014 12:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AleGDiaz
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/29/2014

hi, i've been trying to solve this issue since i first got the gpu. It doesn't show the gpu's temperature and so catalyst puts the fan to 100%. 

Someone said i should reinstall windows, since before that i used nvidia graphics and sometimes it's the only way right? I did that, and up until i installed amd catalyst the fan was all on control, after i installed it and restarted, the fan goes to 100% again.

I know my specs aren't the recomended for full performance, but i'm upgrading it by little cause in Brazil prices suck. (i've said that in another post) kk but it shouldn't have anything to do with gpu temperature.

intel g331/33 family mobo / 3gb ram 800mhz / core 2 duo 2.8 ghz (oc. to 3.01) / sata ide 500gb 3gb/s / 500w c3 tech psu / amd catalyst drivers 14.6  --- lights pleeeease kk

 07/06/2014 01:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Master Looter

Posts: 337
Joined: 11/27/2012

Inadequate PSU...  that should have been upgraded first.

 

QB



-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC:

CPU: AMD FX-8350.||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:Asus R9 270X DirectCU II TOP.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
System Drive: 2xSamsung 840 Pro 128GB RAID0.||.Working Drive: 2xMushkin Chronos 60GB RAID0

 07/06/2014 02:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

So many things about that system say they could be the problem, PSU being one of the top ones.  If you didn't wipe drivers properly switching from Nvidia to AMD, that could well be your issue.



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 07/06/2014 05:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
seemax1991
Peon

Posts: 15
Joined: 07/05/2014

"amd catalyst drivers 14.6"

- go 13.12 most stable Drivers for R9 currently

 

"500w c3 tech psu"

- Buy Be Quite L8 730W CM (R9 290 needs 48 Amps on the rail - PSU got 2x30A you need to connect one connector of 12V1 and one of 12V2)

 07/06/2014 09:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Originally posted by: seemax1991 "amd catalyst drivers 14.6"

 

- go 13.12 most stable Drivers for R9 currently

 

 

 

"500w c3 tech psu"

 

- Buy Be Quite L8 730W CM (R9 290 needs 48 Amps on the rail - PSU got 2x30A you need to connect one connector of 12V1 and one of 12V2)

 

I'd recommend highly against "recommending" a PSU that might currently be giving you yourself serious issues.

If you're going to upgrade PSU, get something made by Seasonic, Corsair, Silverstone, or a similar highly-rated manufacturer, with at least a Bronze 80+ or better rating (I recommend Gold, but I'm picking & run Crossfire or higher graphics regularly).

Personally, if you know for a fact you're sticking to 1 graphics card for the foreseeable future, I'd get a Corsair 750W PSU and be done with it.  Absolutely no way any single-card system will have power-draw issues on that PSU, ever.  Even the cheaper end 750W from Corsair is still one of the best units on the market in that wattage range. 



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 07/06/2014 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AleGDiaz
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/29/2014

Yeah i know the Psu's crap but does it really makes it not show the temps from the gpu?

About removing the nvidia drivers properly, i even used guru's software. Re-installing the windows afterwards, by formating the partition really solved the problem, seems like i've gained a boost ... i wasn't even able to open watch dogs, now it runs... but since i don't have enough ram nor processor, it just crashed to not run anymore =x anyway uahsuahsu

About the psu, i'm looking up for a RM 650w +80 gold. What i don't know is if i'm gonna need more. I prefer to build systems to last, just like this old one did.

The PC i'm planning is a Vishera 8350, 1tb or 2tb idk but 6.0 gb/s ofc, along with g.skill's 8gb 1600mhz, some fans, h100i for the cpu and along with r9 280x which i already bought. BUT there's a few things to consider, tests showed that vishera 6300 is better for r9 280x, even better than a i5, so there's that. And in a future maybe buy a ssd and some more ram memory, considering this games coming up kkk like watch dogs' minimum 6gb -.- 

Statistics
87664 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.