Topic Title: Will AMD support 4k @ 60hz 4:2:0 HDMI for current 4K TVs?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/06/2014 12:37 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/06/2014 12:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
golem
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/06/2014

I've noticed that 'other' video card manufacturers have enabled 4K @ 60hz on their HDMI 1.4 video cards using 4:2:0 color sampling to reduce bandwidth requirements.

It would be great if AMD added this support to their video cards as well, since most current 4K TVs are limited to 4:2:0 over HDMI anyways with regards to 4K @ 60hz (being that full bandwidth HDMI 2.0 hardware wasnt readily available by time of their release).

 07/06/2014 02:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

The answer to your topic will undoubtedly be "probably, eventually, yes" if anyone actually from AMD posts. 



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 07/06/2014 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12878
Joined: 04/17/2008

Doubtful. Most 4K televisions from reputable manufacturers (Samsung, Sony, LG, etc) are HDMI 2.0 capable, so it would be a waste of resources.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/06/2014 12:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1417
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: golem I've noticed that 'other' video card manufacturers have enabled 4K @ 60hz on their HDMI 1.4 video cards using 4:2:0 color sampling to reduce bandwidth requirements.

 

It would be great if AMD added this support to their video cards as well, since most current 4K TVs are limited to 4:2:0 over HDMI anyways with regards to 4K @ 60hz (being that full bandwidth HDMI 2.0 hardware wasnt readily available by time of their release).

 

I recommend staying on the sidelines until panels and video cards mature a bit before jumping in.

Gaming gets expensive as resolutions rise quadrically due to x andvy resolutions. Games do not scale very well with more than 2 video cards.

 



-------------------------

 07/10/2014 04:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
golem
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/06/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion Doubtful. Most 4K televisions from reputable manufacturers (Samsung, Sony, LG, etc) are HDMI 2.0 capable, so it would be a waste of resources.

Actually, the thing is most (all?) of those TVs do not actually support full-bandwidth HDMI 2.0 with 4k @ 60hz 4:4:4 because the hardware to support that standard wasnt available yet when they were being designed earlier this year.

Instead they have support for low bandwidth 4k @ 60hz 4:2:0 (which they can still refer to as HDMI 2.0 even though it is not the full standard), which makes enabling low bandwidth 4k output a good interim move, one taken by other video card manufacturers.

Here is an article from AVSForum explaining the situation

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/168-hdmi-q-one-connector-world/1523994-hdmi-2-0-cedia-webinar.html

Vegan: Asking the questions since I already have a Sony 4K tv and 290's in CF, so of course I am curious to see if support is coming or wondering if i should seek another solution

 

 07/10/2014 07:19 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7425
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=454&threadid=175749&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

Statistics
87466 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.