Topic Title: Upgrading help to AMD Radeon R9 270X (R9-270X-CDFC, XFX)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/08/2014 07:16 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/08/2014 07:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thehumanlsayer12
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/08/2014

I need some help on upgrading to this GPU. Since it's the only place to ask..anyways I am starting to realize that my Mother board and PSU may not support this GPU at all. Here are my PC's Specs:

Brand: HP, Model #: p7-1297cb

Windows 8.1 (x64, 64-bit)

Current Processor: AMD A10-5700 APU @3.4 GHz, 3.64 GHz Accel. Lock, @4.0 GHz Turbo

Current Amout of RAM: 8 GB (x2 4 GB 1600 MHz RAM Cards) @1600 MHz

Current GPU: Intergrated AMD Radeon HD 7660D Graphics @1300 MHz

Current Mother Board: MSI MS-7778 (Jasmine)

Current PSU: Unknown

I am looking to Upgrade the CPU to AMD A10-5800k, the RAM to x2 8 GB Cards, and of course the GPU. I was unable to see if my Computer will suppport this GPU, without getting a new Rig. The MOBO has a PCI x16 Slot, but I don't know if it's 3.0 or not. And IF my Computer isn't compatiable then if anyone would recommend a good Gaming Mother Board (Likely under $200) with a CPU (Under $250) that would go Great with the GPU, also 8 GB RAM Cards for Gaming (Under $200 Each). All would be great, thanks.

 07/09/2014 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Any PCI-E slot that's x16 will work with the card just fine, may not be ideal, but it'll work.  

The PSU is the big question mark.  Take off the side of your case & see if you can find a sticker that looks similar to this, it will tell you the info we need (feel free to post a picture of it):

 

We need to know at least the wattage & the amps it has on the +12V rail/s



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 07/09/2014 04:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thehumanlsayer12
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/08/2014

Ok..I am looking all over the Place for it, no luck yet. My computer is really dusty, never cleaned it.

 07/09/2014 04:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Peon

Posts: 38
Joined: 04/27/2008

I wouldnt worry about if your board is PCIe 3.0.  Mine is 2.0 and runs these cards just fine.

 

While your in the case. Also look to see if the PSU has 2 x 6pin PCIe connectors.



-------------------------

CPU =  i7 2600K @ 4.7Ghz Swiftech Apogee HD Waterblock
MB =   Asus Maximus Extreme-Z
Ram =  G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 2133 9-9-9-21-1T
GPU1 = Diamond 7970 @1200Mhz Koolance Waterblock
GPU2 = HIS 280X @ 1200Mhz EK Waterblock
Swiftech 4x120MM Rad - Swiftech MCP655 Pump

 07/09/2014 09:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thehumanlsayer12
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/08/2014

Ok so my PSU says this:

Maxium power can not exceed 300Watts at 25° C

Maxium power can not exceed 260Watts at 50° C

Total Power: 330Watts

And I can not see any other Wires coming out of it besides the ones that connect to the Mobo hard drive etc. Looks like I do need a new PSU then

Statistics
84292 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.