Topic Title: video card fan constantly at 100% all of a sudden!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/16/2014 02:51 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/16/2014 02:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dlam
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/16/2014

this is sooo weird,  i've had my computer for about 3 years now with no problems, and all of a sudden the GPU fan *always* on 100%!  (i opened the case and listened)

something I noticed was that in AMD catalyst control center the listed "Temperature" is at -128 celsius, so maybe some censor is broken or something?   I don't think I've ever looked before so I don't know what it usually says

 

 

AMD Radeon HD 6950 - 2GB

 07/16/2014 06:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 364
Joined: 10/14/2011

Have you tried blowing out the dust from the card? Tried reseating it? 



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 

 07/16/2014 08:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Perhaps the temperature sensor died, the fan gets confused as the reported temps are gibberish and thus runs on a safe 100% speed, then all you can do is either get a new gpu or .. force the fan to run at a lower fixed speed and hope the gpu doesn't overheat. Also do what Fishman said in the previous reply.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 07/16/2014 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1417
Joined: 01/31/2010

The HD 6950 fan should last more then 3 years

the OP might want to get an air purifier or 3 to reduce the airborn dust in the gaming room

you can vaccum a rig, I have cleaned fans etc with one

 

 



-------------------------

 07/16/2014 09:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 926
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: Vegan

 

you can vaccum a rig, I have cleaned fans etc with one

 

   

But not recomended as vacums can cause static electricity

Originally posted by: Vegan The HD 6950 fan should last more then 3 years

Anything should last,but nothing is guarenteed.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 07/17/2014 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dlam
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/16/2014

Originally posted by: Fishman Have you tried blowing out the dust from the card? Tried reseating it? 

 

 

yeah,  I cleaned out all the dust in my case and the card over this past weekend with the hope that it might quiet down:  i think its the first time i've *ever* done  it

I haven't tried reseating it though, maybe that'll fix it

 07/17/2014 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dlam
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/16/2014

Originally posted by: zipsi Perhaps the temperature sensor died, the fan gets confused as the reported temps are gibberish and thus runs on a safe 100% speed, then all you can do is either get a new gpu or .. force the fan to run at a lower fixed speed and hope the gpu doesn't overheat. Also do what Fishman said in the previous reply.

 

 

yeah this is what I'm thinking too  =(   

I wonder if there's a way or a program or something to really test if it really is the case that the video card sensor is borked

 07/17/2014 10:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12911
Joined: 04/17/2008

I would say it is dead. If it's still under warranty you could try to RMA it, maybe you'll get lucky and they'll upgrade you.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
87623 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.