Topic Title: Sapphire Tri-X R9 290 Black Screens
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/24/2014 07:03 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/24/2014 07:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earlendi
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/24/2014

Graphics Card: Sapphire Tri-X R9 290

Catalyst Driver Version / History: 14.3 (the newest on sapphire site)

Operating system: Windows 7 64 bit

Issue details: My gpu is blackscreening few minutes after boot. When I will set VDDC offset on +18 it persists but it isnt normal to overvolt gpu at stock clocks. I wish I had default settings (clocks) and voltages without blackscreens as it should be.

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 5

Power Supply: CoolerMaster G550M

Display Devices / Connections: Dell P2414H, through DVI

Applications and games: Various.

CPU details: Intel Core i5 4690k 4500MHz ~ 1,15V

Motherboard BIOS:F5, the newest

System memory: Team Group Vulcan 8 GB (2*4GB) DDR3 2400MHz ~ 1,65V

Case: Fractal Design Define R4

Case fans: 3

Additional Hardware: WD Blue 1TB, LG SATA III Optical Drive

 07/24/2014 07:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 882
Joined: 09/11/2008

when I first read your post,this:

Power Supply: CoolerMaster G550M Made me wonder.

I know they say It should work,But it's not The size I would ever use.

Using this and a 280X(they dont list the 290 series)

http://www.service.asus.com/#!psu-calculator/c1ig3

your recommended PSU is 650 watts.And thats with the 280X,not the 290.

You know exactly what you have in your system,So I would advise going through it anyways.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 07/25/2014 05:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earlendi
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/24/2014

It's impossible. When I am increasing voltage then power is increasing too so if my gpu is ok on higher voltage than it cant be the psu fault.

 07/25/2014 07:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 422
Joined: 08/21/2011

Originally posted by: Earlendi It's impossible. When I am increasing voltage then power is increasing too so if my gpu is ok on higher voltage than it cant be the psu fault.

 

Sapphire system requirements state 750W.

Min.specs i can find are 33A 600W+,on single 12V rail(no overclock).

Uninstall that strange(asian?)14.3 driver,install 14.4 WHQL from AMD download site.



-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 



Edited: 07/25/2014 at 07:46 AM by goodplay
 07/25/2014 07:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earlendi
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/24/2014

P=U*I 

Dont blame PSU, it doesnt have sense.I'll try the 14.4 drivers.

 07/25/2014 08:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Originally posted by: Earlendi P=U*I

Except if you have insufficient [P]ower, then your system isn't going to run that well.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 07/25/2014 08:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earlendi
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/24/2014

But on increased voltage everything is going well.

 07/25/2014 08:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1226
Joined: 01/31/2010

Originally posted by: Earlendi Graphics Card: Sapphire Tri-X R9 290

 

Catalyst Driver Version / History: 14.3 (the newest on sapphire site)

 

Operating system: Windows 7 64 bit

 

Issue details: My gpu is blackscreening few minutes after boot. When I will set VDDC offset on +18 it persists but it isnt normal to overvolt gpu at stock clocks. I wish I had default settings (clocks) and voltages without blackscreens as it should be.

 

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z97X-Gaming 5

 

Power Supply: CoolerMaster G550M

 

Display Devices / Connections: Dell P2414H, through DVI

 

Applications and games: Various.

 

CPU details: Intel Core i5 4690k 4500MHz ~ 1,15V

 

Motherboard BIOS:F5, the newest

 

System memory: Team Group Vulcan 8 GB (2*4GB) DDR3 2400MHz ~ 1,65V

 

Case: Fractal Design Define R4

 

Case fans: 3

 

Additional Hardware: WD Blue 1TB, LG SATA III Optical Drive

 

your PSU is not adequate for your load, I suggest an 850W model like I use to have enough curent for your box

The lower cost Corsair RM850 is the replacement for my TX850V2

 



-------------------------

 07/25/2014 08:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earlendi
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/24/2014

I played Assasins Creed 4 Black Flag, I've done FurMark stress tests and everything was ok. I've done it on increased VDDC offset. So it cant be PSU fault. Its something wrong with gpu basic voltage, maybe drivers fault.

@Edit

Ok, I downloaded the newest drivers and so far everything seems to be ok.

I am going to leave my pc turned on. Hope its gonna be ok. Didnt expect that drivers will solve my problem. Thank u for solutions guys.

@Edit 2

The last time I had black screen was when I uinstalled old drivers and when I emptied bin with old drivers files. I've left my PC turned on for about 3 hours and I've just came back. I didnt see black screen so the newest driver (final, not beta) fixed my gpu. Thanks for help. As u can see, its not psu fault.



Edited: 07/25/2014 at 01:21 PM by Earlendi
 07/25/2014 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HoneyBadger84
Button Masher

Posts: 205
Joined: 06/10/2014

Glad to see Driver Updates seem to have fixed your issue, I was just about to suggest a fix one of my recently-resold-card recipients did for his black screens, which was unplug & then plug back in the card's onboard fans plug, in his case, it had come loose, somehow, and the fan was not properly cooling the card, resulting in temperature spikes that, naturally, black screened the system in intense applications (or upon load period in some cases).

A word of warning though, your PSU is 'adequate" wattage wise, for your system, pretty much, but the amperage may be a bit lacking... and if you use programs/games that actually fully utilize that card, you may have trouble there, and it'll be your motherboard that may end up suffering (inadequate amperage or power to the card can result in 24-pin plug being overstressed & burning/melting, this could also happen to the PCI-E slot or the card's power plugs).  What's the listed amperage on the rail/rails you're using for the card currently?



-------------------------

CPU: i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz 1.29V (Corsair H110-cooled) ~ Motherboard: Asus RoG Rampage IV Extreme 
RAM: G.Skill Sniper Gaming Series (4x4GB 2133MHz, CL9) ~ PSU: Corsair AX 1200W ~ Case: Enermax Fulmo GT
GPUs: 3x HIS R9 290X Reference (Core) Editions in TriFire, Max Load Temps: 71C/70C/71C during OC testing :-P

 07/25/2014 03:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 882
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: Earlendi Thanks for help. As u can see, its not psu fault.

 

Anyone else notice,that on every thread where the OP down right will not accept the answers to his ?,They always say something else fixed it and we were wrong.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 07/25/2014 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earlendi
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 07/24/2014

+12V max wattage = 504W

504W/12V=42A

I cant give back my PSU, I bought my PC about one month ago

Statistics
85345 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.