Topic Title: PSU upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/31/2014 06:45 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/31/2014 06:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
HarryBB
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/26/2014

Hello.

I have just recently disvovered that i will need a new PSU in order to upgrade to a better graphics card seeing that 300W won't cut it. I am wondering if instaling a bigger, better PSU will harm any of my current computer's components because of the larger amount of power available. 

A link to my PC's specs is below. 

http://h20566.www2.hp.com/portal/site/hpsc/template.PAGE/public/kb/docDisplay?javax.portlet.begCacheTok=com.vignette.cachetoken&javax.portlet.endCacheTok=com.vignette.cachetoken&javax.portlet.prp_ba847bafb2a2d782fcbb0710b053ce01=wsrp-navigationalState%3DdocId%253Demr_na-c02681285-29%257CdocLocale%253D%257CcalledBy%253D&javax.portlet.tpst=ba847bafb2a2d782fcbb0710b053ce01&ac.admitted=1406802439580.876444892.199480143

Thanks.

Harry 

 07/31/2014 08:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12471
Joined: 04/17/2008

A power supply will only deliver the amount of power demanded from it. In other words, you could have a 1500w PSU, but if the draw is only 300w, that's all it will deliver.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/31/2014 09:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Elite

Posts: 1230
Joined: 01/31/2010

never cut corners on a power supply

http://hardcore-games.azurewebsites.net/wp/hw/psu.php



-------------------------

 07/31/2014 02:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 882
Joined: 09/11/2008

Originally posted by: Vegan never cut corners on a power supply

 

http://hardcore-games.azurewebsites.net/wp/hw/psu.php

 

Thats exactly what I've been saying for years.For some strange reason most people seem to think all PSU's are made equal and don't do enough research on it's importance in there system.

The issues that can arise from a poor quality/sized PSU are numerous.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

Statistics
85439 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.