Topic Title: Splinter Cell Conviction no longer playable with R9 200s
Topic Summary: My R9 280X is not compatible with Splinter Cell Conviction
Created On: 08/02/2014 02:32 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/02/2014 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thready
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/02/2014

I wanted to play Conviction before playing Blacklist and I don't know what to do now. Is it AMD's fault or Ubisoft's fault that Splinter Cell Conviction is not supported by the R9 200s? Every time I open it it says it's not supported and then when I play it, I get loads of graphical stuttering and bugs. Someone said to downgrade Catalyst to 12.X but I'm not going to do that. That's a silly solution. I bought this game thinking that it would play on my new $250 graphics card but I guess I'm wrong. I'm sitting here having a panic attack out of frustration because all I want to do is play a game that I paid for, but I feel like I've been cheated. Nowhere online does it say that the game is not supported with these cards. Only when it validates my system do I get that message. I know it's a long shot, but can AMD update their drivers or something? I am having a hard time justifying buying any Ubisoft games or keeping AMD stuff since this has happened on more than a few games so far.

Just to update, I sent manyt questions to Ubisoft and they don't know what to do because they are uninformed. Twice they told me to update my graphics drivers and then asked me if my system meets the minimum specs. I'm pretty sure my custom built $1000 system meets the requirements for a 4 year old game.



Edited: 08/02/2014 at 03:44 PM by thready
 08/02/2014 10:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kenkoyka9
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 01/30/2009

Hmm, haven't played Splinter Cell Conviction with my new R9 290, so gonna try it later.   Splinter Cell Black List works perfectly though.

 08/03/2014 12:00 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12552
Joined: 04/17/2008

That would be because Ubisoft needs to patch their game to properly detect the card. Go to their forums.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/04/2014 10:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMD_BSOD
Peon

Posts: 36
Joined: 08/04/2014

Sounds like a NVidia deal. There are a lot of games which are not working with AMD or very bad with AMD. Like Warface. Only graphic artifacts with actual hardware and drivers. I think its because Nvidia made a lot of deals. 

Hmmm.... what can i say...

 

Edit:

ok ive made reseach N.... has the same problem ... the graphiccard should be suppored... but i dont trust N.... ... the deals they are making are so N.... like. And because its a Ubisoft Game and N... has much deals with them, it could be the reason. Dont know.



Edited: 08/05/2014 at 07:24 PM by AMD_BSOD
Statistics
85756 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.