Topic Title: ATI Radeon HD 5670 no image
Topic Summary: replacement for ATI Radeon HD 5670
Created On: 08/14/2014 07:01 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/14/2014 07:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
newuser_noscreen
Peon

Hello everyone,

I’m new to this forum, I hope I post this question in the right category. I have a problem with my computer. I think the graphics card is broken. My desktop is only 4 years old, so I want to replace the graphics card with a model of at least similar capacity (or better) that will fit in the motherboard. I’m really not an expert, so I hope someone will be able to give me some advice.

Graphics Card
- ATI Radeon HD 5670 Direct x 11 graphics card with 512 MB GDDR5 memory
- it was never over-clocked

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- it must be one of the latest. I updated a few months ago. My desktop won’t start properly so I can’t verify the driver version

Operating System
- 32-bit, windows 7 latest service pack

Issue Details
- My desktop worked fine until yesterday. After a few minutes of non-intensive use the screen became orange. I had to reset the computer. Afterwards, I immediately got no image (a black screen). The computer won’t start, even after multiple tries. Sometimes I get vertical black and white stripes when I try to start the desktop. I think my graphic card died. I checked the fan, it still works. When I start the computer I hear no special beeps or other noises form the computer. I hear the hard drive spinning (as normally), but I get no image.

I tried the vga, dvi and hdmi output. I also tried de hdmi output on another screen. I know that the problem is not in the screens, because they work fine when connected to another computer.