Topic Title: R280x increase in jaggies after driver update.
Topic Summary: Updated Drivers, increase in jaggies in games, sad story, please and thank you for reading.
Created On: 08/15/2014 04:29 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/15/2014 04:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Weirwood
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/15/2014

 

OS:Windows 8.1 64 bit

CPU: FX-8350 4.0 GHZ

GPU: HIS AMD R9 280x 3GB PCI-E 3.0

PSU: CX750 WATT 80 Plus Bronze

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

RAM: Gskill 4GB DDR3 1600mhz RIPJAW x 2

Resolution: 1920x1080 144hrz

In game resolution: 1920x1080 144hrz

 

About a month ago I decided to update my drivers from 13.12 to the new 14.6 beta (why beta? cause at the time I was playing Wildstar and that beta gave a increase in performance) 

Previously I had simply downloaded the drivers and installed them with out any issue.

This time when my system installed the beta and restarted, I lost control of my keyboard and mouse. On the Desktop everything loaded per normal and the new Raptr program was up.

I used the power button on my system to restart and on the boot up all went fine, mouse keyboard worked.

As I was examining what "raptr" was. I mistakenly hit "optimze" and it procedded to change my settings for...

World of Warcraft

Final Fantasy 14

I then selected the feature to set them back to previous and it did so.

I logged into Final Fantasy 14 (MMORPG) and instantly see an increase in jaggies. As I'm running around I see lines on objects flickering/rolling (as jaggies do) as I ran around the city I see character models with an increase in jaggies as well.

I check all my settings and everything is the same.

GPU has all ways been set to default. In game settings remain the same.

I log into World of Warcraft and see (just like in Final Fantasy 14) jaggies where there had been none before. Character models and buildings had flickering/rolling jaggie lines.

I checked the Wow settings and they were the same, I had Multisampling set to x2 (before with th is setting I saw no jaggie lines) as I ran around I saw buildings and their lines "jaggy" and flicker just as if Anti-Aliasing was off. Trees leafs and limbs would "jaggy" (this happend in FF14 as well).

By increaseing multisampling in game to x4 and turning on Adaptive Multisampling in the CCC I was able to reduce the jaggies decently and make the games playable again, but there is still a increase in jaggies/lines/flickering where there was zero before.

 

I then "rolled back" in the driver panel to 13.12 with success BUT the issue remained unchanged.

I then did a uninstall of the CCC/drivers (as AMD recommended) and deleted all the files in the c:/ folcers then installed the 14.4 drivers with success BUT the issue remained unchanged.

I then used Display Driver Uninstaller (program) to do a clean uninstall, this program put my system in safe mode, removed the program, rebooted and then I installed (again) 14.4 with sucess. The issue remains unchanged.

Performance wise, in both Final Fantasy 14 and World of warcraft (other games as well) I get good FPS in games. I just have a increase in flickering/jaggies.

This has actually got me depressed at the moment. I can't do a restore cause my restore point doesn't go back to June when I did this.

 

It's almost like even though I have the resolultion set to my native 1920x1080 3D objects are NOT being rendered that way?

If anyone has any suggestions I'd love to hear them, I'm at a complete loss now.

What would cause a increase in jaggies in a game that had almost none to start with after a driver update?

Please and thank you for your help and of course thanks for reading my story.

 

**if this matters**

Just to see what it would say, I used the AMD auto detect installer program and it says my Driver display is an APU and offers to download a driver for it.

Not sure why it would say that but it does.. I want to give all the information I can.

 



Edited: 08/15/2014 at 06:12 PM by Weirwood
 08/15/2014 08:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Weirwood
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/15/2014

Is it possible that after the driver update, that it's actually ment to run easier forcing me to up the settings?

 

 08/16/2014 08:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Weirwood
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/15/2014

bump

 08/20/2014 06:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Weirwood
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/15/2014

Bump

 08/20/2014 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vegan
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1417
Joined: 01/31/2010

use in game settings and enable vsync

 



-------------------------

 08/21/2014 06:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Weirwood
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/15/2014

can you explain why this matters and why I would be expieriencing these issues after a driver update?

Statistics
87650 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.