Topic Title: R9 280x flicker then black screen of death
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/23/2014 03:10 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/23/2014 03:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
radwan
Peon

Hello;

This is my first build and I have invested alot to get it assembeled, but been unlucky when I went for sapphire r9 280x vapuor-x. Sapphire support seems to be really slow and useless so far.  I was hopping to get some help here.

Screen flickered and went to blackscreen of death first time upon trying the run "windows rating" in windows 7. Tried to run the windows rating trice and then I knew that there was somthing wrong.

Even in games such as "call of duty 4" was limited to 5 min playing and then starts to flicker with horizentally colored lines accross the screen, then the whole screen goes in patterend vertical blue lines and system freeze where I have to push the reset button.

I was thinking its a heat issue as I noticed that fans stuck at 20% all the time. I've raised it manuually to 100%(bloody loud), I got a bit improved results ... 10 - 15 min before the disaster happenes again.

I have started changing the drivers as follow (each time a clean install using CCleaner and DDU ... etc):

1. 14-4-win7-win8-win8.1-64-dd-ccc-whql:

1.1. Screen Flickers, Horizontal colored lines shows up on the screen.

1.2. Couldn't even run the Windows Rating as screen start flickering and PC freeze with vertical and horizental colored lines.

1.3. couldn't run any games for more than 5 min as it ill end up with colored lines and system freeze.

2. amd-catalyst-14.7-rc3-windows-aug12:

2.1. Screen flicker less often, few incidents of colored horizontal lines.
2.2. I couldn't play games as colored lines starts flash the screen and end up with black screen.