Topic Title: Forum Issues
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/27/2014 07:11 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/27/2014 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 169
Joined: 08/07/2009

Is it just me, or has the time zone settings been messed up for a while now. And it seems to happen over and over again.

I know it would most likely not be possible to migrate the all the data to a new forum software, but I think the time may have come to just go for it, and upgrade the forums.

It would take a while, granted, to manually copy over all the stickies and stuff, but the majority of posts seem to be either incomplete, or a waste of space anyway.

Also, the need to use compatability mode for IE to function properly is a sign the forums are severly behind the times.

Just a thought....



-------------------------

Asus P5Q-SE+ / Core2 Duo E7400 2.8GHZ / 4GB DDR2 / HD6870 1GB / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Ultra 650watt PSU / Windows 7 X64

 06/28/2014 07:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

So you read the first few threads in this section and decided to write a summary of them?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/28/2014 07:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 169
Joined: 08/07/2009

LOL...perhaps.

I just wanted to put my 2 cents on it. Obvioulsy this forum is in need of a major overhaul.

If more complain, it may just happen.

I love AMD graphics, they have always served me well. I have never had one fail. I have a friend still running my old X1650 from 2006.

The truth is, this forum is an embarrasment for them.

 



-------------------------

Asus P5Q-SE+ / Core2 Duo E7400 2.8GHZ / 4GB DDR2 / HD6870 1GB / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Ultra 650watt PSU / Windows 7 X64



Edited: 06/28/2014 at 08:15 PM by Practikill
 06/28/2014 11:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13067
Joined: 04/17/2008

Especially since I'm sure I still see an AMD sticker on the Ferrari F1 team cars.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/28/2014 11:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

If AMD would settle on one format and eliminate all the various websites, they could afford to ditch this clunker of a website and have one that reflects a forward thinking company. Just using Google...there are three different 'home' sites...each one layed out different. Check this:

http://www.amd.com/en-us/markets/game/downloads

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 09/28/2014 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4102
Joined: 01/27/2008

The link I've been using for a looong time keeps going to the old AMD Gaming forum. Next time it goes here.

And just to make things worse the new posts aren't marked as such.

What da heck!!!???



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, Antec900 case, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 09/28/2014 10:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13067
Joined: 04/17/2008

I've also been getting a "server busy" or "over capacity" error page half the time as well.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/28/2014 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 169
Joined: 08/07/2009

I've been getting randomly redirected to the old forum as well.

How can a company of this size not be able to manage it's sites properly? Or even afford a modern forum software.



-------------------------

Asus P5Q-SE+ / Core2 Duo E7400 2.8GHZ / 4GB DDR2 / HD6870 1GB / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Ultra 650watt PSU / Windows 7 X64

 10/18/2014 07:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4102
Joined: 01/27/2008

Has anyone else had the issue where when you first visit the site, the forum's areas with new post are marked appropriately but when you exit the area all New post markings are gone and you're left to scan dates to find new posts.

I've deleted all my cookies and the problem persists.

 

EDIT:

The new version of Firefox (33.1) seems to have fixed the problem.

Hmm. the problem is back. :/



-------------------------

#1: FX-6350, Antec Kuhler 920, MSI 970 Gaming, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, GSkill (F3-14900cl9d-8gbxl), Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Win8.1pro x64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, Antec900 case, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2



Edited: 11/23/2014 at 08:19 AM by Hardwood
 12/09/2014 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 169
Joined: 08/07/2009

Am I the only one who still keeps getting randomly redirected to the old CPU forums?

I use a direct shortcut to get to this site.



-------------------------

Asus P5Q-SE+ / Core2 Duo E7400 2.8GHZ / 4GB DDR2 / HD6870 1GB / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Ultra 650watt PSU / Windows 7 X64

 12/09/2014 09:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Practikill Am I the only one who still keeps getting randomly redirected to the old CPU forums?

 

I use a direct shortcut to get to this site.

 

I thought I as the only one...yep, it happens infrequently.

 

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 12/09/2014 09:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13067
Joined: 04/17/2008

Haven't had that happen to me yet.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/09/2014 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Practikill
Grinding Levels

Posts: 169
Joined: 08/07/2009

OK, not just me,lol.

It's odd it is still up. They merged the two forums. So...why not just take it down?



-------------------------

Asus P5Q-SE+ / Core2 Duo E7400 2.8GHZ / 4GB DDR2 / HD6870 1GB / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Ultra 650watt PSU / Windows 7 X64

Statistics
88754 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.