Topic Title: Once Again: 1 Step Forward and 2 Steps Back (12.6)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/01/2012 11:59 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/01/2012 11:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GHODZILLA5150
Peon

Posts: 48
Joined: 04/15/2010

Well I have been on 12.3 since it came out. I went to 12.4 and Viola Skyrim Freezing like Crazy. So I go back to 12.3 and all is good again. Well today I download 12.6 because I have a Sapphire 7850 and 12.6 is supposed to really help 7800 GPU's. Well once again one of my favorite games (Sniper Elite V2) starts Freezing like crazy and I have to Hard Boot. Back to 12.3

Man, these guys can't get it right.

 08/02/2012 01:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12204
Joined: 04/17/2008

And what degree from which university did you get which says you know better than they do?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/02/2012 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi well here we go again. I know a few people plus myself on the 12.6 and sniper elite v 2 plays like a dream. So do all other games of course I am not loading 20 programs at boot and my pc is setup to perform. also many other people do not experiance this problem. The pc I have the one 7870 in is older like a q9650 8 gig ddr3 1600 mhz ram, has not been a bios update for the board in 2 years. So I think in this case one must have there pc setup properly to have a good gaming experiance. My other pc has 2 7950 cards it performs very well also on the 12.6 although much newer board . So I suggest look for other problems like do you use a green hard drive is the pc setup properly test your ram and hard drive for errors for ram use memtest for the hard drive use hd tune. And yes I having been doing this since 1990. Check the temps. If your hard drive cant keep up with the video it will cause problems try a raptor drive or somthing that is above the cheap models. So as you can see there are many people having no problems with the drivers its time to look elsewhere. Next time please post your pc specs that way it gives us a chance to look for problems. 



-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 08/02/2012 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GHODZILLA5150
Peon

Posts: 48
Joined: 04/15/2010

Black_Zion - I know, I Know AMD NEVER makes mistakes. They are Perfect with EVERY driver pushed out

Hammey - I have a 1TB WD Caviar Black (I highly doubt that's the issue). Under 12.3 Sniper Elite V2 worked like a Charm. Could play for 3 straight hours with no issues (with 12.6 could play no longer than 20 minutes and full system freeze) and a Max Temp of 65 Degrees (The 7850 is a dream when it comes to Heat). I don't have 20 Programs loaded at boot. Matter of fact I have Zero. I am an IT PC Enthusisats (been doing it since 1983) & kind of know what I am doing. This is a fresh install of Win 7 64. Reverted back to 12.3 and Sniper Elite V2 is running like a champ again. The only other time I had an issue is when 12.4 came out and Skyrim was doing the samething. Reverted back to 12.3 a what do you know, it started working great again.

 08/03/2012 12:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hammey
Grinding Levels

Posts: 179
Joined: 05/09/2012

Hi thats great so can you tell me why mine and many others work just fine. Maybe its a bad card and cant take the new updates as I know when I installed the 12.6 win 7 came up with new hardware found. And yes we all know drivers somtimes are a mess like when the N crew realeased a driver that burnt out many cards due to no fan adjustment. So I guess it is possible for the 12.6 drivers not to work on your configuation but as I am sure you will agree there has to be a reason, it works for many and will not on your system. As per norm a hard problem to solve. With your background in pcs I am sure you know what you are doing many dont. All I can say is sniper v2 runs great on both my systems using 12.6. I hope you get it sorted as they are nice cards. I use both brands of cards in 3 pc systems and the 12.6 did help my ATI cards. 



-------------------------
MSI Mpower Max, I7-4770K, MSI GTX 780 Lightning, G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB DDR3-2400, 2X Kingston HyperX 3K 480GB , 1Tb Raptor, Creative ZXR Sound, 1000 watt Coolermaster Single 80 amp Rail, G700s Mouse, Z5500 Speakers
 08/03/2012 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GHODZILLA5150
Peon

Posts: 48
Joined: 04/15/2010

I am glad the game is working fine on 12.6 for you. Good thing is I just finished the game so it's not that big of a deal to me (I may update to 12.6 to get the benefits for Skyrim & Batman:AC as I don't nned to play Sniper Elite V2 anymore). Thanks for being Civil.

Statistics
84158 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.