Topic Title: crossfire problem with radeon hd 6850
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/03/2012 08:03 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/03/2012 08:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruthlesschoy
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/03/2012

so i have 2 radeon hd 6850s running in crossfire, both 1gb cards, and with 12.6 drivers installed. when running games i get piss poor performance and load times are enormous. with saints row i need to wait 3 minutes to get into the game and get barely 30 fps. in darkness 2 i get constant stuttering frame rates and max payne 3 runs at around 50 fps. i recently took my second card in to get looked at but im sure its not the card and in the mean time i tested with a single gpu in 12.6 and the same thing was happening. no difference in performance with a single gpu. i downgraded to 11.6 drivers and now my single 6850 gets 60fps in saints row 3 and loads in a flash. max payne 3 is buttery smooth well over 60fps and darkness 2 no longer stutters. i see no jump in performance with crossfire on and 12.6 drivers are awful. any help for these problems? specs below

 

radeon hd 6850 1gb x2 crossfire

16gb ram hyper x kingston

amd 4100 quad core processor 3.6 ghz (flashed to new motherboard patch to fix issues with running games)

 

i have also uninstalled 12.6 completely and reinstalled. and ive tryed 12.7 beta and same thing happens



Edited: 08/03/2012 at 08:10 PM by ruthlesschoy
 08/04/2012 09:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruthlesschoy
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/03/2012

anyone?

 08/04/2012 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7026
Joined: 11/13/2009

If your game is running butterysmooth....then why mess with it? Updating your drivers is a option...not a requirement. Are you using the latest CAP profiles? http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/crossfirex-app-profiles.aspx Since you furnished scant information...I will guess you are running winXP and have a 400watt PS.

edit>>> http://forums.amd.com/game/faq.cfm <<<



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/06/2012 12:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruthlesschoy
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/03/2012

no... windows 7 800 watt ps. and i have a problem and want to mess with it because im not getting any benefit from crossfire, crossfire doesnt seem to work for me in 11.6, hence the single gpu in the description. im using the 12.7 cap profiles, although im unsure if they work with 11.6

 08/06/2012 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 815
Joined: 09/11/2008

try some of the earlier drivers,I'm still on 12.1 on crossfire 6950's,they work great,there is no reason to update drivers unless you are having issues and the newer drivers address these issues.Otherwise,just stay with what works.

 

did you read this at all?

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=430&threadid=160419&enterthread=y



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 08/06/2012 01:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruthlesschoy
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/03/2012

no ill be sure to read it next time, btw where can i still download older catalyst drivers like 12.1? on the amd website i can only download 12.6

 08/06/2012 02:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7026
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/Drivers/ATI_Catalyst/old/



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/07/2012 11:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Also here:

Windows7 64-bit, for HD5000 series and newer.
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 08/08/2012 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ruthlesschoy
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/03/2012

thanks ill give it a shot and see how it goes

Statistics
84100 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.