Topic Title: HD7850 problems with Mozilla Firefox
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/25/2012 01:30 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/25/2012 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
matt_zollars
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/25/2012

Grapics Card

- MSI HD7850 Twin Frozr III OC 2GD5/OC

- Overclock @ Clock 1100Mhz Memory 1300Mhz using Sapphire Trixx and CCC AMD OverDrive

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History

- Current : 12.8

- Previously used : 12.4, 12.6, 12,7

Operating System

- Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1

Issue Details

1. Flicker

- Flicker on Browser at randoms occasion about 1~3 times / minutes

- Flicker happens when gpu change mode 2d to 3d (change clock and memory speed)

- It happens a lot out there with different HD7850 brands of VGA, search google with "hd7850 flicker browser" keyword

- It can be solved by disabling Hardware Acceleration option on browser though it make text font looks uglier than before

2. Power management

- Every now and then vga tend to change mode to 3d alot during browsing actifity

- Even on light browsing actifity without watch youtube or flash effect it began to change to 3d mode

- It happens during browsing at maximize windows mode and did not happen on windowed mode

- When on 3d mode vga took about 30% gpu load (that's alot on an overclock vga) within light actifity without other background load available

- It never happens on my previous vga before (GTS250, GTX460, and HD6970)

- CCC setting all default but overclocking area


Applications and Games

- Mozilla Firefox

CPU Details

- Intel Xeon E5620 @2.40Ghz Quad Core

- Overclock @3.20Ghz


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

- LGW2252TE on DV-I

Motherboard or System Make & Model

Asrock X58 Extreme 3

Motherboard BIOS Version
- BIOS 1.70

System Memory Type & Amount
- VGen DDR3 PC10600 4GB X 6 (24GB)

Power Supply

- Seassonic X660 660w

Additional Hardware

- 3 hdd (WDC 1GB, 1.5GB and seagate 500MB)

- DVDRW pioneer DVR???

SoundCard Asus Essence STX

- 2 fan 12cm (front and back)

Additional Details

- Use TuneUp Utilities routine check up (no error - full optimized)

- Use Comodo Internet Security Premium (never had viruses or malicious threats for 4 years since)

- No faulty Hardware (pass Prime95, OCCT, memtest86, and many other HW stress test for stability)

- Those 2 problems happen during default clock and overclock

- I think it might driver related problems so I hope AMD next Catalyst will solve those problems

 



Edited: 08/25/2012 at 02:14 PM by matt_zollars
 08/25/2012 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4267
Joined: 12/27/2008

Your motherboard BIOS is ancient and there is a much newer version to try. Maybe it'll fix the problem, your mobo is old enough to bear the old PCIe issues we saw a few years ago in numerous motherboards.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 08/25/2012 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6086
Joined: 11/13/2009

In Firefox tools > options> general uncheck 'use hardware acceleration' ..try that.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/25/2012 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
matt_zollars
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/25/2012

Originally posted by: Eydee Your motherboard BIOS is ancient and there is a much newer version to try. Maybe it'll fix the problem, your mobo is old enough to bear the old PCIe issues we saw a few years ago in numerous motherboards.

 

I know my mobo is so old and the BIOS was the only one from i bought it years ago

But nevertheless she is an old faitfully one ... never fail whatsoever

I might consider updating BIOS eventhough there are non related issues with my browser problem on updated newer BIOS description

For upgrading mobo it sure needed much more consideration because it means i must bought new CPU too ... which unfortunatelly is not an option in near future

Originally posted by: stumped In Firefox tools > options> general uncheck 'use hardware acceleration' ..try that.

Yup ... that's definitely solved half the problem but the rest made browser font look uglier than enabling HW acceleration

 08/25/2012 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11577
Joined: 04/17/2008

For upgrading mobo it sure needed much more consideration because it means i must bought new CPU too ... which unfortunatelly is not an option in near future


Uh, no, newer BIOS versions are additive, meaning they do not remove compatibility from older versions. Newer BIOS versions are also sometimes able to provide more stable overclocks (as in able to overclock using less of a voltage increase) and sometimes even able to allow higher overclocks than previous versions. Also, they are able to solve some compatibility problems with add in hardware, so you would be well advised to update to the latest stable version.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/25/2012 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6086
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: matt_zollars
Originally posted by: Eydee   

  

Originally posted by: stumped In Firefox tools > options> general uncheck 'use hardware acceleration' ..try that.

Yup ... that's definitely solved half the problem but the rest made browser font look uglier than enabling HW acceleration

Adjust your clear type setting. Go to start and type in   clear type  in the search box.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/25/2012 05:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
matt_zollars
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/25/2012

Uh, no, newer BIOS versions are additive, meaning they do not remove compatibility from older versions. Newer BIOS versions are also sometimes able to provide more stable overclocks (as in able to overclock using less of a voltage increase) and sometimes even able to allow higher overclocks than previous versions. Also, they are able to solve some compatibility problems with add in hardware, so you would be well advised to update to the latest stable version.

Is that so ... okay I will update to newer BIOS when everything is ready

Because failure update BIOS will make my mobo dead

It might not related to my present problems but if it will make my mobo more advance must be an advantage too

Adjust your clear type setting. Go to start and type in   clear type  in the search box.

Thanks ... thats help alot



Edited: 08/25/2012 at 05:15 PM by matt_zollars
 08/27/2012 04:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
matt_zollars
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/25/2012

Updating situasion ...

It seems that 2 of my problems are connected to each other

- When I disabled hardware acceleration on firefox option my vga power management became confuse and use all of time browsing on 3d mode at 30% load

- When I enabled hardware acceleration option my browser screen will be flickering again but vga power became normal and use all of browsing time on 2d mode at about 10% load

so its will be win - lose situasion to choose

if there are other option I choose amd to fix their driver on mozilla firefox browser ... of course

 09/19/2013 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
donigor
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/19/2013

Graphics Card
- SAPPHIRE Radeon HD7850 2Gb DDR5

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- Versione Catalyst: 13.8
- Versione del pacchetto di driver 13.20.11-130814a-160945E-ATI

Operating System
- Windows 8 64-bit

Issue Details
- Same problem with Firefox

Motherboard or System Make & Model
- Gigabyte Z68X-UD3P-B3

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- Samsung SyncMaster 2333HD

Applications and Games

- Mozilla Firefox

CPU Details
- Intel Core i5 2500K - Sandy Bridge - 4 core - 3.3Ghz

Motherboard BIOS Version
- F8

System Memory Type & Amount
- 16Gb: 4x Corsair DDR3 CMZ8GX3M2A1600C8

Additional Hardware

- HDD1 Samsung SSD 840 Pro

- HDD2 WDC W1002FAEX-00Z3A0

- Blu-ray LG BH10LS30

 

 

Question: can you repair this problem? "Firefox tools > options> general uncheck use hardware acceleration" isn't an acceptable solution.

 

Statistics
80952 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.