Topic Title: World of Warcraft Performance Issue
Topic Summary: new system noit performing up to snuff
Created On: 09/10/2012 03:36 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/11/2012 08:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

WOW, it gets better :

At AMBIENT 50*C TOTAL output power shall not exceed 270W

Combined Power on 12v1 & 12v2 shall not exceed 20A <<-- That's probably at 25*c, so God only knows what that is at normal operating temps within a PC, probably something stupid like 16A - 17A .

Looks like a 240W MAX @ 12v rated PSU to me, which drops to a ridiculously low rating at anything near true PC operating temps.

Bin it, you're going to have to buy a better one.

 



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/11/2012 09:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

Originally posted by: NickhabererWell I didnt get the system from gateway directly. it was from futureshop. I'll talk to them there.

It's GateWay's PC, FutureShop probably only sell them AS-IS and probably wouldn't know if GateWay use proprietary BIOSes, VBIOSes, drivers etc etc .. You'd get a more comprehensive and correct answer from GateWay .. Seriously, you think those guys who ripped you $1300 for it are going to be any more honest than they seem to have been with you already ? I can picture the scene -

Hi, need a new VGA card as this one doesn't perform at all well in the machine you sold me as a gaming rig.

Oh, sorry about that. Here, buy this $xxx priced VGA card.

Need a new PSU aswell.

Oh, here, buy this PoS we sell for $150 even though this too is crap.

OK, here's my credit card.

Thanks.

Oh, there'll be no compatibility issues with it all will there ?

No, not at all, even though we have absolutely NO idea at all - but then, we got your money now so we don't really give a hoot.

 

... personally I'd avoid all the fuss, talk to Gateway first and THEN do something.



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/11/2012 09:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nickhaberer
n00b

Posts: 10
Joined: 09/10/2012

You're probably right. Talking to gateway would be the safer option I suppose. Only problem is I don't even know what I need to be asking them. I don't know what you're talking about when you say proprietary BIOSes, VBIOSes and stuff.

Do I just call them, explain my situation, let them know I want to upgrade and ask them what I should get?

 09/11/2012 09:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7246
Joined: 11/13/2009

Here is a nifty program... SIW (free) that will tell you everything about your computer...everything. http://siw.en.softonic.com/ . As fret said, gateway is your first stop, but don't buy from them...you can get better deals. You can also sell your old card and power supply on Craigs list, etc.

A idea...go to a Gateway desktop forum and explain your situation and ask for advice> Basically what you want to know is will your motherboard and bios support changing your graphics card to a 6950. Same with the power supply. Don't get discouraged...you have a good start on what you want. Here are some links > http://forum.desktopreview.com/gateway-emachines/   http://support.gateway.com/support/ask_gateway.aspx?cmpid=topnav



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 09/11/2012 at 09:53 PM by stumped
 09/11/2012 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

@ Nick - Yeah buddy, talk to their tech support, make sure it's a tech you talk to, not a 1st tier desk-jockey and do just that. They will tell you if it's OK to upgrade with components other than their own ( that's proprietary hehe )  OEM stuff.

Something along the lines of -> "I'd like to upgrade the VGA card & PSU in my GateWay <MODEL NUMBER HERE> and was wondering if it was possible to use regular components or does the machine use specific firmware which would render things incompatible" .. .. something like that .

Then if they say you can add in any discrete component, you can budget for a VGA card and PSU and someone here can advise accordingly for your budget and needs . Good luck ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

Statistics
84960 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.