Topic Title: Battlefield 3 crash
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/04/2012 03:17 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/04/2012 03:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Loui5D
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/03/2012

Crossfire 7950's (Asus DC2 Top + Sapphire Vapor X)

I5-2500k

Asus rog maximus V extreme

8gb Corsair vengeance Ram

OCZ 850w 80+ gold PSU

 

Tried 12.9 and 12.8.

 

Problem is - i join a server and like 3 seconds after i click deploy my pc crashes, and have to do a hard reboot to get it back out. It was fine a week or two ago ( i could play for as long as i was interested) i've done a clean install and still get this issue (so i've had to redownload everything)

 

Thanks in advance.



-------------------------

i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz


RoG Maximus V Extreme


Asus DC2HD7950 TOP, Sapphire Vapor-x


850W OCZ


16gb vengeance mem


W7 64bit


Benq Xl2411T



Edited: 10/04/2012 at 04:50 AM by Loui5D
 10/04/2012 03:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1037
Joined: 11/22/2010

What GPU's are you using? "750" doesn't recall any radeon model to me, HD7750? And does the crash occur when using only a single gpu?



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 10/04/2012 04:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Loui5D
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/03/2012

7950's slight typo error



-------------------------

i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz


RoG Maximus V Extreme


Asus DC2HD7950 TOP, Sapphire Vapor-x


850W OCZ


16gb vengeance mem


W7 64bit


Benq Xl2411T

 10/11/2012 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Loui5D
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/03/2012

Now experiencing this crash on every dx11 game when playing with crossfire enabled. Getting rather enfuriating here.



-------------------------

i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz


RoG Maximus V Extreme


Asus DC2HD7950 TOP, Sapphire Vapor-x


850W OCZ


16gb vengeance mem


W7 64bit


Benq Xl2411T

 10/11/2012 09:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1037
Joined: 11/22/2010

Are you using latest application profiles? Without them crossfire tends to be.. moody



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 10/11/2012 09:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Loui5D
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/03/2012

Yep, 12.9 or 12.8 i think.



-------------------------

i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz


RoG Maximus V Extreme


Asus DC2HD7950 TOP, Sapphire Vapor-x


850W OCZ


16gb vengeance mem


W7 64bit


Benq Xl2411T

 10/11/2012 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7170
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Loui5D Yep, 12.9 or 12.8 i think.

http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/crossfirex-app-profiles.aspx

 

..and here is a good place to start > http://www.google.com/search?q=bf3+crossfire+fix&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-SearchBox&ie=&oe=



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 10/11/2012 at 02:41 PM by stumped
 10/11/2012 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Loui5D
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/03/2012

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: Loui5D Yep, 12.9 or 12.8 i think.

http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/crossfirex-app-profiles.aspx

 

..and here is a good place to start > http://www.google.com/search?q=bf3+crossfire+fix&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:en-us:IE-SearchBox&ie=&oe=

12.9 CAP

And the other link was irrelevant, that link posted specificaly about BF3 but i am know getting this crash on EVERY dx11 game i play when crossfire is enabled. (Your link posted to issues with micro-stuttering)



-------------------------

i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz


RoG Maximus V Extreme


Asus DC2HD7950 TOP, Sapphire Vapor-x


850W OCZ


16gb vengeance mem


W7 64bit


Benq Xl2411T

 10/11/2012 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

I personally think that your issue is that you are trying to crossfire two non-reference 7950's from two different manufacturers.  They may just not play nice together even though you said previously that they had.  Did you notice that they have two different GPU core clocks?  Have you tried configuring them so that they match?  Even still I'm willing to be that the power states on the cards differ so that when you enter 3D mode the power states change and the difference in the power states of the two cards are what is borking things for you. 

Model
Brand: SAPPHIRE
Series: Vapor-X
Model: 100352VXSR

Interface
Interface: PCI Express 3.0 x16

Chipset
Chipset Manufacturer: AMD
GPU: Radeon HD 7950
Core Clock: 850/950(Boost State) MHz
Stream Processors: 1792 Stream Processors

Memory
Effective Memory Clock: 1250MHz (5.0Gbps)
Memory Size: 3GB
Memory Interface: 384-bit
Memory Type: GDDR5

Model
Brand: ASUS
Model: HD7950-DC2T-3GD5

Interface
Interface: PCI Express 3.0 x16

Chipset
Chipset Manufacturer: AMD
GPU: Radeon HD 7950
Core Clock: 900MHz
Stream Processors: 1792 Stream Processors

Memory
Effective Memory Clock: 1250MHz (5.0Gbps)
Memory Size: 3GB
Memory Interface: 384-bit
Memory Type: GDDR5

Erm....I have never understood why someone who is going to crossfire/SLi....why buy cards from different manufacturers?  Why not buy a second one that matches the first one.....that to me is the safest way to go.  In any event, if you are not worried about your warrant on one of the cards you could probably get past this issue by flashing the BIOS of the card so that it matches the other one.  That would make everything match as far as the software/drivers/BIOS are concerned so there won't be any conflicts.

Cheers!



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 10/12/2012 10:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Loui5D
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/03/2012

I've saved the Bios from my sapphire card (Using their trixx software)

Now if you would so kind as to enlighten me on how to flash the BIOS of the asus card i shall make an attempt.



-------------------------

i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz


RoG Maximus V Extreme


Asus DC2HD7950 TOP, Sapphire Vapor-x


850W OCZ


16gb vengeance mem


W7 64bit


Benq Xl2411T

 10/13/2012 05:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7170
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=361204



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 10/13/2012 06:05 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12330
Joined: 04/17/2008

So should we be looking on eBay for when you brick the ASUS card?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/16/2012 05:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Loui5D
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/03/2012

I may sell the asus card and buy another vapor-X, But until i decide i want to pin down that it is hardware and not software.

I think if i included a bit of history it might help narrow down the problem:

as of september (just before i upgraded my mobo (origninally it was a P8Z68-v LX) ) crossfire was fine but i upgraded my mobo at the beggining of this month; crosssfire worked completley fine until i re-installed windows. After the clean install i can't play many games on crossfire (BF3 crashes 3 seconds after i get in game and Natural selection 2 just crashes on startup)

 

I'll try and record a video if that helps.



-------------------------

i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz


RoG Maximus V Extreme


Asus DC2HD7950 TOP, Sapphire Vapor-x


850W OCZ


16gb vengeance mem


W7 64bit


Benq Xl2411T

 10/16/2012 02:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7170
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Loui5D I may sell the asus card and buy another vapor-X, But until i decide i want to pin down that it is hardware and not software.

 

I think if i included a bit of history it might help narrow down the problem:

 

as of september (just before i upgraded my mobo (origninally it was a P8Z68-v LX) ) crossfire was fine but i upgraded my mobo at the beggining of this month; crosssfire worked completley fine until i re-installed windows. After the clean install i can't play many games on crossfire (BF3 crashes 3 seconds after i get in game and Natural selection 2 just crashes on startup)

 

 

 

I'll try and record a video if that helps.

 

Then the problem is your installation of windows...how do you think think this concerns AMD? Everything worked until you started changing things around. Call or bug the motherboard supplier or, take your computer to a expert and have it done right. And please ..no videos.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 10/16/2012 08:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Have you tried MSI Afterburner yet?  Once it is configured properly in settings and in the config file you manually set your gpu's frequency....voltage....memory frequency...hit apply and both cards should then be running the same.  This is how I would test.  Don't go nuts though on the OC....just pick one of the card's stock settings and try that first.....don't want to blow up the card(s) or anything.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 10/22/2012 09:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Loui5D
Peon

Posts: 14
Joined: 10/03/2012

Fixed the problem, a driver for one of the pci buses wasn't installed correctly.(no alarms in device manager which is wierd) discovered it when a openGL app i was bug testing threw out some errors relating to it. Also drivers for my asus card where a bit dodgy so i've installed 12.9 and all is fine so far.



-------------------------

i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz


RoG Maximus V Extreme


Asus DC2HD7950 TOP, Sapphire Vapor-x


850W OCZ


16gb vengeance mem


W7 64bit


Benq Xl2411T

Statistics
84673 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.