Topic Title: Poor gaming performance
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/10/2012 07:11 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/10/2012 07:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Danaj528
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/10/2012

Lately I have been experiencing poor performance on newly released games (specifically Guild Wars 2, Borderlands 2, and Diablo 3). With my system I was expecting to blow these games out of the water, or at the very least run them on medium-high with 60fps. However, i cant even run them on low settings without experiencing lag or random fps drops and freezes.

I can run games like The Witcher 2 at max settings (not Super Sampling) with a constant 55-60 fps. So my guess is that the developers are optimizing their games poorly.

On top of that, I have seen virtually no support from AMD on some of these games. I understand that developers should be the ones making their games better, but not seeing a single useful driver update is really making me impatient

I was hoping to hear what you guys had to say about any of this. Would you guy recommend I go to an older driver? I really want to play those games (diablo 3, guild wars 2, borderlands 2) without lag, but cant seem to even get a smooth fps with the lowest settings (in fact, there is no performance increase at all).

Graphics Card 

XFX HD-695X-CNDC Radeon HD 6950 2GB 256-bit GDDR5

830 MHz Core, 1300 MHz memory (Not overclocked)


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
Started with 12.3 and worked my way up until now 12.8. uninstalled before installing new versions

Operating System
Windows 7 64 bit SP1

Motherboard

M4A79XTD EVO (AM3) Chipset 790X

Power Supply

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139021

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
ASUS VE278 via DVI

Acer X203W via VGA

CPU Details
AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition 3.2 MHz (Not overclocked)

Motherboard BIOS Version

Version                2102

Date      06/17/2010

System Memory Type & Amount
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Model F3-10600CL8D-4GBHK (x2)

Additional Hardware
Seagate Barracuda ST31000524AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

 



Edited: 10/16/2012 at 12:29 AM by Danaj528
 10/10/2012 12:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12209
Joined: 04/17/2008

Uninstall and use Driver Fusion, then reinstall 12.8

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/11/2012 12:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Danaj528
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/10/2012

thats a nice program. I also tweaked my CCC settings around and played with some ini files for borderlands 2, i got maybe a 5 fps increase, but nothing significant.

 10/15/2012 11:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Damric
Cookie Monster

Posts: 455
Joined: 05/18/2008

There are some specific driver settings you can tweak yourself in CCC that will significantly impact performance.

There is also much performance to unlock in both your CPU and GPU if you would like to overclock.

-------------------------
If your aunt had balls, she'd be your uncle.
 10/16/2012 12:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Danaj528
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/10/2012

I have never overclocked anything and I dont believe im comfortable enough to be messing around with any of that.

as far as tweaking the ccc, could you elaborate on that? are you talking about the 3d application settings?

heres a screenshot of those settings

http://i.imgur.com/t02Yr.png



Edited: 10/16/2012 at 01:15 AM by Danaj528
 11/01/2012 11:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Danaj528,

Can you provide screenshots of your in-game, and CCC 3D graphics quality settings.  Also, for each game (D3, Borderlands2, and Witcher2, and GW2) can you let us know what FPS you are currently getting?

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 11/01/2012 03:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Danaj528
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/10/2012

heres an album i uploaded to imgur of the in-game and ccc settings

http://imgur.com/a/PAPmd#0

picture 2 is borderlands 2

picture 3 is Guild Wars 2

Picture 4 is The Witcher 2

I didn't upload Diablo 3 because i found the problem. apparently when I enable FPS limit to 60, the game has drastic fps drops (down to 10). The same goes for most games ive been playing. I have seen a huge increase in fps when i uncap the fps.

Borderlands 2 gets anywhere from 30 fps - 80 fps. when i stand still i can easily get 80. when i start moving around i get around 40-50 and it can freeze when i turn and load new textures. When i shoot my gun for the first time the game will freeze for half a second. I have also noticed that limiting the fps to 60 causes more issues

Guild Wars 2 is by far the worst of them all. I get around 20 fps in heavily populated areas and some areas that are just laggy because of the area (i could be sitting there and getting 20 fps for no reason). i can sometimes get 60 fps if i sit still and put the settings on the lowest, but even then it only lasts while im in a specific area. Even on the lowest settings I almost never see 60 fps

The Witcher 2 I can max out all of the settings (except Ubersampling) and get a constant 60 fps. In graphically intense moments it might drops to 55 fps, but it recovers very quickly and sits on 60 again

I have updated my drivers to 12.10 and unfortunately i believe borderlands 2 has gotten an fps drop. I was thinking of upgrading to the 12.11 beta, but might just wait it out until it is fully released



Edited: 11/01/2012 at 03:24 PM by Danaj528
 11/01/2012 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12209
Joined: 04/17/2008

Don't worry about Guild Wars 2, it's an issue on NCSoft's end. It uses a modified GW1 engine, doesn't support Crossfire, and is inefficient.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84180 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.