Topic Title: Windows 8 - Black bars in full screen games
Topic Summary: Games not running in full screen
Created On: 11/25/2012 07:18 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/25/2012 07:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
illisis
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/25/2012

hi all,just reloaded my computer with windows 8.. I have an issue when loading into full sreen games like black ops 2 and Anno 2070.The issue is that the game doesn't display in full but instead has black bars arround all sides.the windows desktop is fine.I have tried turning gpu scaling on with no real luck.any advice is apreciated.p.s CCC installed is v12.10
 11/26/2012 11:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Hello, a bit more information may be needed to help you with your issue. Please read the thread below and revise your post to include the requested information in detail.  Doing so will help us help you more efficiently.

Thanks in advance...

**STICKY** | PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING
Please use the template, and fill out as much information about your issue as possible.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 11/26/2012 03:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
illisis
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/25/2012

Graphics Card
2x HD6970 in Crossfire configuration

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
12.10

Operating System
Windows 8 Pro


Issue Details
Full screen games like black ops 2 and anno 2070 do not display in full screen despite the resolution being set to 1920x1080 in game and on the desktop(Desktop does display full screen)

Motherboard or System Make & Model
GA-EX58A-UD3R

Power Supply

Silverstone Strider 850w


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
Acer 24" P244W via dvi to hdmi cable

Applications and Games

Anno 2070

Call of Duty Black ops 2

CPU Details
Intel i7 930 2.8ghz quad Hyper threaded

System Memory Type & Amount
6GB Kingston DDR3 1600mhz

Additional Hardware

OCZ 120GB Solid State Drive

 11/28/2012 07:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
illisis
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/25/2012

Using a straight HDMI cable does not resolve the issue.

Nor using 12.11 CCC Beta.

 11/28/2012 11:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Does it happen in all games or just those two?



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 11/30/2012 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Probably the solution is the same as always:

 



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/08/2012 06:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hugogirao
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/08/2012

Hello,I'm having a similar problem not it all games but 90% of them.My primary game is World of Warcraft and it's happening.I really think this can be a Acer Monitor "drivers".Regards,Graphics CardSapphire HD7970 OC AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History12.10Operating SystemWindows 8 ProIssue DetailsFull screen World of Warcraft and Star Wars-The Old Republic is does "underscale?"Motherboard or System Make & ModelASRock FX990 Extreme3Power SupplyXFX Pure Power 550wDisplay Device(s) and Connection(s) UsedAcer 24" S243HL dvi to hdmi cableApplications and GamesWorld of Warcarft and Star Wars-The Old RepublicCPU DetailsAMD FX-4150System Memory Type & Amount8GB Corsair DDR3 1600mhzAdditional Hardware
Statistics
85439 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.