Topic Title: GTA 4 steam in windows 8 won't recognize 7950 thinks its nvidia 9600 gt.
Topic Summary: GTA 4 steam in windows 8 won't recognize 7950 thinks its nvidia 9600 gt.
Created On: 11/26/2012 02:53 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/26/2012 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kamikaziechameleon
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/25/2011

GTA 4 steam in windows 8 won't recognize 7950 thinks its nvidia 9600 gt.

 

issues is while I've found work arounds to play the game I cannot get the game to utilize my gpu properly creating frame rate issues with medium settings where my old nvidia 460 had none.

 11/26/2012 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7094
Joined: 11/13/2009

You didn't uninstall your nvidia software correctly. Use Drver Fusion...select nvidia graphics and delete all it finds. Reboot. Then follow this>

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/26/2012 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kamikaziechameleon
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/25/2011

This is a new system build, new HDD, new mobo, new install, fresh everything no reason for it to think I have a Nvidia GPU.  This 7950 GPU is the only GPU to have been on this particular build.  

 11/26/2012 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7094
Joined: 11/13/2009

With the wealth of information you supplied..this stood out "" windows 8 won't recognize 7950 thinks its nvidia 9600 gt""

""issues is while I've found work arounds to play the game I cannot get the game to utilize my gpu properly creating frame rate issues with medium settings where my old nvidia 460 had none.""

There is a sticky called Please Read Before Posting



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/26/2012 04:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kamikaziechameleon
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 05/25/2011

I'm sorry for the confussion it is my fault.  But thanks for the recomendation non the less. 

 11/26/2012 04:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7094
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/27/2012 06:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 134
Joined: 11/11/2012

Maybe I'm off base and, I don't know where you find what card GTA4 thinks you are running, but GTA4 has a problem with cards that have more than 1GB VRAM (drap port that it is).                                                                                    The game thinks my HD7970 has only about 200+ MB VRAM.

Quote from Rockstar follows - (the Steam version instructions are at the bottom)

Create a text file named ‘commandline.txt’ in the main GTAIV folder and put the following statement inside it:

-availablevidmem 2.0

If that doesn't work, try increasing the number to one of the following. 

-availablevidmem 3.0

-availablevidmem 4.0

-availablevidmem 5.0

-availablevidmem 6.0  ( I used the value of 6.0)

etc.

Note that these command lines can be added immediately after the last quotation mark in the target parameter of the program shortcut.

  • Locate the shortcut to the video game on your desktop.
  • Right click the file and select Properties.
  • Under the shortcut tab, you will see an area that says Target, this will list the exact location of the file within quotation marks.
  • Modify the Target adding the command line variables after the last quotation mark.
  • Press apply and start your game via the shortcut.

If you are using Steam, please try:

Properties of game>Launch Options>Add: -nomemrestrict -norestrictions

 

 

-Now if AMD/ATI could develop an AA that works in the game as well as Nvidia's FXAA, or works at all in this and some other AA deficent games, I'd be a lot happier.

 

.

 



Edited: 11/27/2012 at 07:11 AM by Dinwiddie
Statistics
84348 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.