Topic Title: Assassins Creed 3
Topic Summary: One big thread full of badness...
Created On: 12/04/2012 12:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 4 5 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/04/2012 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

It looks like a lot of people are having trouble with AC3 either in or out of crossfire.  Instead of having a bunch of threads scattered all over the place, I'm going to merge those we have open now into this one.  Lets post bug reports, fixes, questions, complaints and general ranting about it here...



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 12/04/2012 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cooketh
Buffed

Posts: 85
Joined: 06/02/2009

Sapphire Radeon HD 6870 X 2 In Crossfire PCI-E x16 2.1 per slot simultaneous

AMD Catalyst 12.10 (With latest CAT App Profiles Oct 22 2012)

Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit

Crossfire is giving no gain and in most cases detracting and hurting performance when enabled, especially in GPU demanding scenes.

All settings set to max (things get especially bad when AA is set to Very High, as opposed to high or the lowest setting. there are only 3 AA settings so i don't know how much actual AA is being implemented.) Also running at 1920x1080 60hz via HDMI

PSU is Thermaltake Toughpower XT 875 W (Xfire / SLI ready)

Monitor is Dell ST2310 via HDMI 1.14a

CPU is Core i7 950 @ 3.07 standard (OCing makes no impact)

Memory is 18GB ( 3 x2gb Corsair XMS3 and 3 x4gb Corsair Vengeance 1600)

Running on Corsair F120 SSD (120 gb Force series 2)

All windows updates are up to date, including many optional updates that may be related to performance gain.

 

Is there any word on an Xfire profile, or general solution to the performance issues?



-------------------------


Specs: Intel Core i7 950 Socket 1366 CPU 3.1Ghz - Asus P6T V2 Deluxe Mobo - Thermaltake Toughpower XT Gold 875W - 18 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3 / Corsair Vengeance 1600- 2x ATi HD 6870 GDDR5 1GB VRam CrossfireX Mode - Dell ST2310 23inch LCD Monitor @ 1920x1080p via HDMI - Corsair Force2 F120 SSD 120GB (500mb/s read/write) - Windows 7 64 bit Home Premium

 12/04/2012 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
daniellange
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/21/2010

I can report poor performance with dual 6970's as well.

Even on lowest settings.

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5

AMD FX-8150 @ 3,6 GHz

16 Gb DDR3 @ 1600 Mhz

 12/04/2012 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1349
Joined: 07/13/2009

I can't get the game to run past the intro video.  It crashes consistently.  When running the previous releases to verify that they still worked, I noticed that CF worked for a short while, then stopped - usage on the second GPU dropped to nothing, and it returned to idle clocks (300/150).

So I'm thinking, if they can't even get the game to work for a whole lot of people (I'm definitely not the only one), it'll be some time before CF is working well for those who can actually get the game to run.

 

 12/04/2012 12:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
daredevils
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 11/21/2012

I have two sapphire 7970. I cant play in eyefinity mode when my cards are crossfired and i have negative scaling. When i deactivated crossfire, eyefinity and game see perfect.



-------------------------
 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

well ... the new AMD driver 12.11 beta11 and its CAP2 did not fix AC 3 FPS drop problem at all .. its still the same .. so please AMD guys i beg you fix it fast because UBISOFT people says its not their fault !!



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7231
Joined: 11/13/2009

Hi...you need to supply some basic information about your computer before anyone can try to be of assistance.
 
Please supply the following:
 
1. AMD graphics card(s)
2. Operating system
3. Processor
4. Power supply (make and model)
5. System RAM (amount)
6. If this is a laptop furnish make and model
7. Have you read the FAQ?
  
   NOTE: If you have a laptop, Please post in the laptop forum

http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&flcache=65467&entercat=y

Also, you could read  http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y   for additional information.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

you are right .. sorry .. here it is my PC spec :

1. ASUS HD5770 1gb

2. win 7 64bit

3. intel core 2 due E7300 @ 2.66 cash 3mb

4. cooler and master 500W

5. DDR2  6gb

6. no i do not have one !!

7. honestly .. no .. i did not .. xD

and i know its so old PC but for Assassins creed 3 standard it should run just fine and thanks alot man for asking



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise



Edited: 12/04/2012 at 01:28 AM by abohamed
 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

Not with a HD 5770 and a 2.66ghz Core 2 Duo, people with more powerful systems (both AMD and nVidia based) have problems with that game getting playable frame rates.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
knox.johm
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/03/2012

SO,

 

Lately i've been experiencing a lot of issues with my ATI cards.

 

Starting by this one:

 

Every f* minute i get this "APPCRASH" on my "EXPLORER.EXE" caused by "ATIUMD64.DLL" and i don't know what is possibly causing that. It's been ruining my games since it pops up every f* minute and minimizes my game.

 

and with Assassin's Creed III... oh boy... almost a month (or more?) since they released it and no solution for this...

Since i reached Boston at the game i've been experiencing this terrible unplayable 20fps, which I THINK it's not normal. I've looked everywhere and a LOT of people got this issue and STILL no solution.

 

And now you guys released a new application profile for FAR CRY 3? No Assassin's Creed?

 

AMD is just gettin worst and worst. I feel bad for saying that but, I think i'll have to get a NVIDIA card, which I never liked...

 

 

PS: My specs:

i7 960 @ 3.20GHz

Corsair Vengeance (1x8 x 2x4) 16GB of RAM

HD6870 XFX Black Edition + HD6870 XFX (Crossfire mode)

ASUS Rampage III Gene

 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

Yea yea, Assassins Creed III, discussed over and over, Ubisioft problem which requires an Ubisoft fix.

As for the APPCRASH, you said "Lately i've been experiencing a lot of issues with my ATI cards." which means you weren't before some event, so what did you do right before that happened? New drivers? Duff RAM stick? OS change?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
knox.johm
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/03/2012

It's Ubisoft fault that i can't run it decently on Crossfire? Because all the people i know who has the same problem is running on Crossfire. NVIDIA and single GPUs run it smoothly.

 

I tried to run with only a single GPU and i got between 25~35fps. Still, i want to run it with 60 at least, since i got 2 GPUs.

 

About the APPCRASH, i don't know what happened but suddenly it started with this s*.

 

I'm using the latest drivers of my card as well as the application profile. I just know it's an error related to ATI drivers...

 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

Crashes don't just start out of the blue, check your RAM with memtest886+, then if that passes uninstall the drivers, run DriverFusion, and reinstall to rule out a corrupted file.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niczerus
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/25/2012

Hi i have a 6850 , 4gb , amd athlon x4 @3.0 , and i have 20 fps in this game in 1920x1080 or 800x600 in low or high details , whats is the release date of the new drivers for this game ? nvidia release a new driver and working very good , meanwhile i am not play this game of any way .

I'm tired of Ati videocards and the problems in the middle of the games , my next vga will be a nvidia .

sorry for my bad english .



Edited: 11/25/2012 at 10:30 PM by niczerus
 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7231
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=443&threadid=162336&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
niczerus
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/25/2012

All players with Ati have low framerate is not the game or yes but 20 fps in 800x600 or 1920x1080 no have sense.

 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7231
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: niczerus All players with Ati have low framerate is not the game or yes but 20 fps in 800x600 or 1920x1080 no have sense.

Whatever you say.

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/124076-13-assassin-creed



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 11/26/2012 at 12:37 AM by stumped
 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

hey all AMD guys ... please guys we need a new AMD driver fast because the game of the year ( at least for me ) and by that i mean Assassins creed 3 is unplayable especially in boston city because this big problem with bad optimization for our ATI video cards by UBISOFT guys that cause the FPS drop problem ... so please AMD guys help us in this crysis and btw my spec is :

GPU : ATI 5770 HD ASUS
CPU : intel core 2 due E7300 @ 2.66 and 3 Mb cash
RAM : 6 GB DDR 2                                                                                                WIN : 7 64bit



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's a problem Ubisoft has to fix. The game developers still do have some responsibility in this age of "blame the drivers, not the programmers"

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/04/2012 12:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trutiss
Nerfed

Posts: 67
Joined: 01/21/2011

an utter outrage for a PC version works like a bad emulation..



-------------------------

windows 7 x64/4770K@Stock,Asrock z87 Extreme6/Sapphire hd6970/Corsair 850 tx

AMD Support and Game » Games and Applications Help » Assassins Creed 3

1 2 3 4 5 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84905 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.