Topic Title: Smooth gameplay vs high frame-rates
Topic Summary: What I think drivers should aim for
Created On: 12/09/2012 02:50 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/09/2012 02:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mdank4493
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/09/2012

I've been playing around with my new A10-5800k matched with a 6670, and might I say that I think it's an incredibly powerful platform with lots of potential. However, even when overclocked (north bridge at 2200mhz, CPU at 4.2Ghz, IGP at 1025, RAM at 2133, and Dedicated GPU at 900 and 870, IGP given 2gb of system RAM for dedicated V-RAM) I never seem to get "smooth" gameplay. The whole system runs with incredible speed...., but it never seems to be fast enough to smooth out the frames. 

Benchmarks will say I'm pulling an average of 40-60 fps, but when watching the benchmark it just feels jagged and lacking in that smooth gameplay feeling. It just jumps and skips frames all over the place. I'd be perfectly content with 30fps if it was smoothed out. The whole system isn't even running 100% and that makes me sad. With everything working for the APU I can see how much power it has, but it just isn't being optimized correctly.  

 12/09/2012 02:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Max9R
Grinding Levels

Posts: 158
Joined: 09/10/2007

http://www.radeonpro.info

Download the latest preview version.  Create a profile for your games and enable Dynamic Framerate Control.  Set it to a value roughly equal to 10 fps less than your average, that should smooth out any micro stutter issues you're experiencing.

 

 



-------------------------

W7 Ultimate x64: Corsair 800D, AX1200
EX58A-UD5, i7 970 @ 4.5Ghz
16GB RipJaws @ 1600
3x XFX BE 7970 Tri-Fire @ 1200/1600
OCZ V3 120GB + WD 2TB Black
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Dell U3011 + WFP2407
Koolance 370 & EK GPU Water Blocks

 12/09/2012 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mdank4493
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 12/09/2012

That did indeed fix the problem. I'd still like to see a feature like that built directly into CCC though. That and proper overclocking when you're using dual graphics. It's really hard to overclock the dedicated card, and if it's not overclocked, then it becomes the bottleneck to the IGP. 

But thank you Max9R, that did the trick. If rather cheaply

Statistics
88971 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.