Topic Title: Repeated BF3 freezes during game due to display drivers failure.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/19/2012 04:00 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/19/2012 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Atnt
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/19/2012

Graphics Card
MSI Radeon 7770 PMD1GD5

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
 9.10.8.0 reinstalled after clean uninstall of last beta.


Operating System
Windows 7 64 bits service pack 1

Issue Details

Nom du journal :System

Source :       Display

Date :         19/12/2012 21:16:17

ID de l’événement :4101

Catégorie de la tâche :Aucun

Niveau :       Avertissement

Mots clés :    Classique

Utilisateur :  N/A

Ordinateur :   Gamemachine

Description :

Le pilote d’affichage amdkmdap ne répondait plus.

XML de l’événement :

<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">

  <System>

    <Provider Name="Display" />

    <EventID Qualifiers="0">4101</EventID>

    <Level>3</Level>

    <Task>0</Task>

    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>

    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2012-12-19T20:16:17.000000000Z" />

    <EventRecordID>71591</EventRecordID>

    <Channel>System</Channel>

    <Computer>Gamemachine</Computer>

    <Security />

  </System>

  <EventData>

    <Data>amdkmdap</Data>

    <Data>

    </Data>

  </EventData>

</Event>

Drivers failure appear after a random duration playing. The screen freezes but I can kill the app using the console. The game is reported as running normally in Battlelog, though it's crashed.
Game graphic settings are set to recommanded by Battlefield.

A directx issue appeared for the first time today. GPU memory appeared to be missing! pop up window automaticallyshut before I could write down the details.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Gigabyte P55-UD3R

Power Supply

Brand new Be Quiet Pure Power L8 630W. Problem also occured with former Power supply Cooler Master RS-400 ASAA-D3.

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
Samsung Syncmaster P2250


Applications and Games

-Battlefield 3 Premium Latest patch / DLC (Aftermath) installed


CPU Details
I5 750 no OC

Motherboard BIOS Version
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG

System Memory Type & Amount

8 Go  DDR3  666.19 MHz
2x G.Skill 4 Go 800 MHz PC3-12800

Additional Hardware
None in particular

Additional Details

Full recommended troubleshooting done, power supply upgraded, case cooling improved. Issue still occurs everyday within a duration range from 5' to one hour +. 

 12/19/2012 04:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7179
Joined: 11/13/2009

Are you sure heat is not a issue? Have you run GPU-Z while gaming and looked at the highest temperature the card reached? You might try this > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=161193&enterthread=y  but read the Microsoft article first.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/20/2012 12:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kolzig
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/20/2012

I am having the same issue as the OP. I am using a 7970 and I am running a 1000 watt power supply. The highest the card gets to is about 42c. The same thing happens with World of Warcraft. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the drivers and software to no success. Any other ideas? I apologize for not having all the technical read out from my crashes.

 12/21/2012 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Atnt
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/19/2012

I performed a complete troubleshooting process and the GPU is brand new (same model ordered for crossfire. But issue still occur (twice in two game sessions tonight).

Tdr set to 8 without any (positive or negative) effect.

I've been experiencing this problem since I bought the HD7770 and installed Aftermath BF3 DLC.

I never experienced this bug with my former HD5770. 

Can you recommend a valuable GPU troubleshooting app?

 01/07/2013 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Atnt
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/19/2012

Originally posted by: stumped Are you sure heat is not a issue? Have you run GPU-Z while gaming and looked at the highest temperature the card reached? You might try this > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=161193&enterthread=y  but read the Microsoft article first.

 

Unfortunately, this is not an overheat issue. All the temp parameters are ok. Problems have been occuring a bit less often since I reinstalled the drivers after using driversweeper (1st time).

 04/20/2013 12:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xblackheart
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/20/2013

I have a the HD7770 and have the same problem. Never had a problem with WOW freezing with my old graphics card Radeon 4600, I think it was. I upgraded and now World of warcraft freezes, with the error that pops up saying my display driver has stopped working. Extremely frustrating. If anyone finds an answer to this problem, please reply here.

 04/20/2013 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7179
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: xblackheart I have a the HD7770 and have the same problem. Never had a problem with WOW freezing with my old graphics card Radeon 4600, I think it was. I upgraded and now World of warcraft freezes, with the error that pops up saying my display driver has stopped working. Extremely frustrating. If anyone finds an answer to this problem, please reply here.

You can use the search feature in the forum to find posts about WoW. There was something about Intel processors that needed a update. Go to Intel and use their 'check for updates' program > http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/detect



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/21/2013 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ethango
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/21/2013

I am having the same issue with an array of the games I play; HD 7970, with the newest (13.1?) drivers installed. I recently updated my drivers from 12.8, and this is when the problem began occuring. Quite obnoxious. It is not limited to one game, nor does it seem to be limited to any one factor, from the highly physics intense games to the 2d animation, I am having this issue. Searching the forums was disheartening, as it seems there has been no response from AMD regarding these occurances. Has anyone independtly found a fix?

 06/02/2013 06:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Atnt
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/19/2012

I've tried everything so far, but the issue still occurs.

Drivers correctly updated (13.4)

Power set to 105%

Temp monitored and ok (news fans, etc.)

and every "solution" discussed on the Internet

but it occurs randomly and a new issue even appeared : one of my graphic cards disappeared and I can t activate crossfire in CCC (box is missing).

I'm very close to exchange my GPUs for the other company's as no one, and especially AMD, is able to solve a problem of drivers!

 

 06/02/2013 10:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12345
Joined: 04/17/2008

You know, since the issue has persisted through 6 months, chances are it's not a driver situation.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/02/2013 12:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Atnt
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/19/2012

I would agree with you if I was alone with that issue. And the problem seems to be caused by drivers / direct x.

In any case, if it's a hardware problem,well, it has been occuring since the second generation of radeon graphic cards with apparently the same symptoms.

But the worst thing is that even on AMD's forums, no one can propose a reliable solution to that issue. 

So what's next?

 

 06/22/2013 06:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xblackheart
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/20/2013

I am seriously considering switching to a different graphics card, myself. Did not have a problem before. But it appears WOW and my Radeon can not communicate with each other and no one has a solution that will work. Everything of mine is up to date and it did not start until i got this graphics card....

Statistics
84738 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.