Topic Title: GTA IV on XFX 7970 problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/12/2013 04:58 PM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/12/2013 04:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
clenfesty
Peon

Hi guys!I am very new to this so bare with me.  Recently i had got a XFX 7970 and for some odd reason GTA IV (steam version) wont allow me to change the video/graphic settings to maximum, it wont even allow me too change my resolution.  I've went searching all over the internet for a solution i found something called "-norestrictions -nomemrestrict" by copying and pasting it into the shortcut properties.  This allows me to change the settings however the game is UNPLAYABLE, meaning it lags and stutters as if im running a video card from 2002 to try to play the game.  I had initatly had the gtx 460 sc ee 1gb and had recently upgraded to a XFX 7970 3gb video card and honestly all i can think of is perhapes the 3gb memory throwing off gta iv its really anyoing as i love the game but my new card thats top of the line cannot run it, is it possible that you AMD with release a fix for this? im positive im not the only person experiencing this issue.  Also right now i am running the latest drivers 12.11 cap 2 HELP! thanks in advance.
 01/13/2013 07:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

GTA4 can be like that. A hand holding 'feature' that didn't allow for new cards with more RAM sometime down the line = Fail. The game thought my 7970 had something like 128MB or so VRAM.

The fix is a commandline text. Open notepad from within GTA4's main directory and name the file   commandline.txt