Topic Title: Microsoft Train Simulator crash on W8
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/13/2013 04:02 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/13/2013 04:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Binsyoo
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/13/2013

 

Hi, I run MSTS for years on XP and W7 without problems but can't on W8.

My system configuration is:

CPU: Intel i7 920

RAM: 6,00 GB

Graphic Card : ATI Radeon HD 5850

Catalyst: 12.11 (no difference with 12.10 and W8 OEM)

OS: W8 Pro 64 with Media Center 6.2.9200 (the game run great on W7 Ultimate 64)

Faulting application name: train.exe, version: 1.16.5.912, timestamp: 0x3c1625d7

Exception code: 0xc0000005

Fault offset: 0x003062cb

Faulting process ID: 0x1704

 

I do some research on internet and seems to be that the game run without problem on W8-32 & 64 bit machines with Nvidia cards but crash at start with ATI & MSI cards.

Starting the game in compatibility and administrator mode don't help.

 

Any suggestion?

 

 03/10/2013 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slipperman12
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/10/2013

Hi,

I have the same problem as the above gentleman.  There is absolutely no problem running Microsoft Train Simulator under Windows 8 when using an NVidia card.

As it is obviously not a game or Windows 8 problem, it would seem to point to being driver orientated.  There are still many MSTS users worldwide and I am certain a great many of them, like us, use AMD Radeon graphics cards.  It seems a pity that we have to switch to a rival's product to continue using our simulator.

I have tried the latest (12.11 Beta) drivers without success.

Could a representative of AMD please give us some indication if this situation will be resolved, and, if possible, when?

 

Many thanks

Ged

 

Edited 11 Mar 2013 : I have now tried 13.1 and 13.2 Beta issues of drivers without success.  I am using an HD 5450 graphics card.

 



Edited: 03/11/2013 at 09:22 AM by slipperman12
 05/06/2013 09:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
inway417133
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/06/2013

Same issue here.  It definately is an issue with the intel hd graphics chip interfering with ati.  I just installed a xfx7750 on a i5 windows 8 machine, even upgraded power supply to 600 watts.  I bought Nvidia one time, didn't like it.....Spent all day online researching, even people buying machines that come with dual Intel and ATI cards are having issues with the Intel card interfering with all sorts of games, not just MSTS.  In my case if you right click on the desktop it shows 2 desktops, and desktop one is showing as general non pnp monitor, and is auto set at very low resolution, and is clearly the HD Graphics card.  Desktop display 2 is showing the ATI 7750, and obviously for whatever reason MSTS seems hell bent, along with a great many other games, to default automatically to number one.  I am only running one monitor.but if I right click on the desktop and choose CCC, and then go to identify, it only shows one desktop monitor, and thats the 7750, so clearly we have HUGE conflict between ATI and Intel, as it's not just msts from what I'm seeing in various forums online....it's ALL games new and old.
 05/06/2013 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6092
Joined: 11/13/2009

This is a peer-to-peer gaming forum. If you want to submit your issue to AMD technical support, then use the "issue report form" found on every driver download page...or you can use the information given in the "How-to & FAQ" section of the forum to contact AMD via e-mail or telephone for your country. This is not a technical support forum.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/24/2013 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slipperman12
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 03/10/2013

Hi,

I appreciate it's not a technical support forum, but I initially used it because it's the only Forum which had any posts about MSTS (Microsoft Train Simulator)!

To update my earlier post, I have now tried all the Beta drivers up to date (13.6 Beta2) without success.  The cards I have tried, in addition to the 5450, are 5750, 6870 and 7850.

I have submitted an Issue Report Form, but, again, without any successful outcome!  Only three of us have reported the situation here, but I know there are a great many more; some of them have switched to NVidia cards. I have personal experience of one of their cards and can confirm they work without problem under Windows 8.

Cheers,

Ged

 

 

 

 

 07/16/2013 02:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alsthom
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/16/2013

Hi,

I am having the same issue. I have tried many drivers. I have submitted an issue report but without response.

I confirm that msts works with nvidia cards on Windows8 x 64.

I hope that someone, someday, somehow will provide a fix for that...

Cheers

Statistics
80988 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.