Topic Title: Low framerate since Windows 8
Topic Summary: Since moving to Windows 8 my framerate has been terrible
Created On: 01/17/2013 08:59 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/17/2013 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VRocker
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/17/2013

So i was one of those people who jumped on Windows 8 at release day and i'm also mad enough to like it over Windows 7 (dont hurt me!) but since moving to 8 some of my games have lagged like crazy.

Here are my specs:

Motherboard: Asus M5A99X Evo
CPU: AMD FX-8350
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD6950 2GB
RAM: 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL8
SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128GB
HDD: Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB <- used for games
Sound: Asus Xonar DX
PSU: OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600W

The CPU used to be an AMD Phenom X4 955BE until last month. Upgrading my CPU helped my framerate but its still lower than on Windows 7.

The first game i noticed with a reduced framerate was Battlefield 3. On windows 7 with the Phenom i could happily run this game on High and have a stable 60FPS at 1680x1050 but when i moved to 8 i couldn't get over 20FPS no matter what graphics setting i chose. It could be on Ultra or Low but it would still get 20FPS. Since upgrading my CPU to the FX-8350 i now get 40FPS on any graphics setting so there is still an issue.

Another game which has a really terrible framerate is GTA4. I know this is a badly optimised game but it didnt run too badly on 7. With the settings on a mixture of High and Very High i would get 50-60FPS on Windows 7 with the Phenom 955.
Now on Windows 8 i get 30FPS with the exact same settings. I even cranked them up to the very max and got 28FPS. I did not test GTA4 on the Phenom on Windows 8 so it could be CPU related but i highly doubt it.

The strangest game to show issues is Worms Revolution. This is the new worms that has a 3D look to it and has some niec 3D backgrounds but remaining its 2D-style gameplay. I used to play this at a full framerate on Windows 7 with my Phenom but as soon as i changed to Windows 8 it is truely unplayable, the framerate doesnt go above 5 and the gameplay is very juddery. Even the FX-8350 didn't help this

There are quite a few games which have seen reduced performance since Windows 8 and its really a shame since everythign else is nice and quick. Some games don't seem to be affected and have the same framerate as Win7 such as ARMA2 and Dirt Showdown which is strange.

Just to clarify, i am using the latest beta drivers but i was using 12.10 first. 12.11 did help the framerate in BF3 slightly.
 Anything i can do to try and get playable framerates in these games or will i have to wait until the next driver?



Edited: 01/17/2013 at 09:07 AM by VRocker
 01/17/2013 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Grinding Levels

Posts: 101
Joined: 11/30/2012

just disable ( turn off ) the Hyper-V ... problem solved !!!



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise

 01/18/2013 03:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1037
Joined: 11/22/2010

Windows 8.. blows, all I've heard about it is negative.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 01/18/2013 04:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RedGreen
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 12/02/2010

Originally posted by: zipsi Windows 8.. blows, all I've heard about it is negative.

 

Initially I upgraded, had lots of problems mostly with Steam games, a clean install of 8 sorted almost all of them.

Still has some minor niggles but overall it's very good, I've had a much better experience so far than when I moved from Vista SP2 to Vista SP3 (aka Win 7) and tbh I wouldn't go back.

 

 01/18/2013 11:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4006
Joined: 01/27/2008

Originally posted by: zipsi  I've heard about it is negative.

 

But not experienced.

No way I'd go back either, win8 is a fine update from Vista. Same teething problems though with drivers and such.

Back on topic.. no game problems, period. Must say I don't have either of the OP's games to test.

 



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/18/2013 11:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12332
Joined: 04/17/2008

The biggest problem in Windows 8 is that it's not NEW. It's built off of Vista, same as 7, and just isn't innovative. The move from XP to Vista was massive, plenty of new things, plenty of annoyances (UAC anyone?), but with 7 and now 8 it's been nVidia 8800 all over again. Name one thing in Windows 8 that is new and innovative? Can't say the Windows 8 UI (can't say Metro) because it was used in phones. Can't say the native mounting of disk images, that's just integrating what Daemon Tools and several other programs have been able to do for years as addon software. It's not faster, it's not more lean, it's just Windows 7 sans DVD playback capabilities.

But as for the game problems, could it be that the games just need to be patched to work correctly with Windows 8. Hmm...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/20/2013 02:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kritikalerror
Peon

Posts: 22
Joined: 01/19/2013

hmm, i read way before launch that windows 8 was no good for games...but 5 FPS on Worms Revolution with a HD6950 2GB?  Exactly what resolution are you using to get that massive 5 FPS?

I think if i had your system with that type of performance, i would spend 5-10 min trying to fix it and if i didn't have any ideas I would smash it with a hammer and get something with a different OS.

i dont have win 8 and dont plan on testing any time soon..

what your saying is almost unbelieveable..and i hope thats not the case.

i hoped win 8 would be as good as win 7..i don't need it to be better.  I'd be happy if it wasnt 10 times worse...

but i use win 7



-------------------------
kritikalerror2000-here@yahoo.com
 01/20/2013 07:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7171
Joined: 11/13/2009

How about a comparison Win7 vs Win8.....gaming only?

http://benchmark3d.com/windows-7-vs-windows-8-rtm-gaming-performance



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/20/2013 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4006
Joined: 01/27/2008

That's a fairly old comparison stumped.. anything newer?

One thing I can say with certainty, for 50bucks this was a worthy upgrade from Vista.As for drivers, no issues now, everything working as it's supposed to. And, only one program that doesn't behave quite right (incredimail) so waiting on their Win8 update.
Back on topic all games still work fine, but then again I'm not an FPS nut, keep vsync on, and really haven't noticed any change.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/20/2013 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7171
Joined: 11/13/2009

I haven't seen one, but, the author of the article currently refers to Win8 as equal to or better than Win7 for gaming. That was a old article that had many good points...mainly, don't expect a new OS to be perfect at first.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/20/2013 06:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7171
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Hardwood That's a fairly old comparison stumped.. anything newer?

One thing I can say with certainty, for 50bucks this was a worthy upgrade from Vista.As for drivers, no issues now, everything working as it's supposed to. And, only one program that doesn't behave quite right (incredimail) so waiting on their Win8 update. Back on topic all games still work fine, but then again I'm not an FPS nut, keep vsync on, and really haven't noticed any change.

Ok...I found this > http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/windows-8-gaming-performance,3331.html



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/21/2013 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4006
Joined: 01/27/2008

Thanks stumped, now that win8 drivers are maturing, this is more like it.

Except for sleeping dogs.. which I don't have.

 



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 01/21/2013 10:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7171
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: Hardwood

 

 

 Except for sleeping dogs.. which I don't have.

 

Let sleeping dogs lay



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 01/21/2013 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
VRocker
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/17/2013

Originally posted by: abohamed just disable ( turn off ) the Hyper-V ... problem solved !!!

Thank you so much! Uninstalling Hyper-V helped! BF3 now runs at a stable 60FPS on ultra without dropping a single frame, GTA4 gets 50FPS on everything maxxed out and Worms is back to being uber smooth

Can't believe simply having Hyper-V installed on the system broke all my games... only had it due to the Windows Phone 8 SDK ><

Now that Hyper-V is disabled all my games run a lot better, even the ones that didnt have performance issues Win8 definately seems better for gaming now

Statistics
84697 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.