Topic Title: Black Ops 1 fps cut in half after 13.1 update?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/22/2013 12:23 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/22/2013 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Berke53
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2013

Hi all,

It was about 6 months ago since i last played Call of Duty Black Ops 1. So I decided to try it once more. What was brought to my immediate attention is that the framerate was literaly cut in half. I remembered having 120+ fps in the interrogation room. Now I can't reach 60 fps.

My pc is in a clean stage (I always maintain it). The only thing I can think of what caused this issue is the updated catalyst Driver. Why does updating a driver decrease framerate by such a huge degree in this "+- older game".

Im using an HD 6870 with a AMD Phenom II 965BE @ 4ghz

Thanks on advantage

 01/22/2013 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You didn't provide enough details. Neither about the PC not about the issue.

Maybe it's not even an issue, you just used vsync off back then and have vsync on this time. Who can tell? We are not mind readers.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/22/2013 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Berke53
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2013

Thank you for the quick reply and i'm sorry that i didn't provide enough details but I don't know what details I need to provide?

I did not switched on Vsync..If Vsync was enabled the framerate would be a constant 60. All settings are untouched as well as my system configuration. I am pretty sure it is a Catalyst driver issue. I am going to swith back to 12.8 drivers to see if I was right. Ill keep you posted

 01/22/2013 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Berke53
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2013

Just as I thought... After switching back to the 12.8 drivers. The framerate is back to normal..

So what is actually going on here? A driver update that decreases framerate in older games? Why can't they update drivers to be optimized for the older as well as the new games?

 01/22/2013 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 720
Joined: 08/28/2012

WOW....stumped...LOL  easy buddy!

Berke....how did you install the 13.1 update?  Did you uninstall the old driver first?  Did you run Driver Fusion before installing the new driver?



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 01/22/2013 04:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Berke53
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2013

Ofcource I did I am not a newb lol..

Before I switched drivers I did a complete uninstall using the recently released official driver cleaner tool from ATI. I assume that this way of removing a driver is equally good as a manual uninstall followed by a driver fusion scan?

(The official removal tool can be found here: http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/catalyst-uninstall-utility.aspx)

Can anybody who has Call of Duty Black Ops 1 verify the huge performance drop on the 13.1 Catalyst?

 01/22/2013 05:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7484
Joined: 11/13/2009

I can tell you it runs fine on my computer.

I can tell you the removal utility does not replace Driver fusion. It leaves the same amount of uninstalled entries as uninstalling the old way...except you don't have to go to 'remove a program' and uninstall from there.

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=162444&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 01/22/2013 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Berke53
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2013

Thanks for the info mate.

I followed the procedure but the issue remains. 50fps on 13.1 catalyst, 120fps on 12.8 catalyst.

- I uninstalled using the official cleanup tool. Followed by a reboot.

- I removed remaining entry's using driversweeper also followed by a reboot.

- I installed the 13.1 catalyst package + reboot.

 

I also stumbled upon a thread where people have the exact same issue:

http://www.cybergamer.com.au/forums/thread/455755/AMD-Catalyst-13.1-drivers/

 01/22/2013 07:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7484
Joined: 11/13/2009

...and you have the latest CAP installed? http://benchmark3d.com/catalyst-application-profiles-12-11-cap-2



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 


 


 *  Quando Omni Flunkus, Moritati *

 01/22/2013 08:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Berke53
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2013

Yes I do.. I also noticed a 30% decreased framerate in Need for Speed Most Wanted 2012. With 12.11Beta i get 30-40 fps, with 13.1 i get 20-30fps.

The Black Ops issue is still present with the 12.11Beta though.
Only downgrading to 12.08 solves it completly. But then again also i got games which perform better on the new drivers. So some games work best with the new drivers, some games work best with the older ones.

This is getting a real mess. Isn't it possible to create new drivers that still contain all the optimization for the older games from the previous drivers but just including additional updates for new games?

 

 07/19/2013 08:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nathan433
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/19/2013

I have the same problem. Half a year since this topic was created and still no fix?



-------------------------
GPU:6950
 04/23/2014 11:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jimintoronto
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 04/23/2014

This is a very old thread, but I just ran into the same problem as the OP's. I've been using version 12.10 drivers for a long time and recently "upgraded" to 13.12. Since then, COD Black Ops has been unplayable with ridiculously low frame rates. I went back to 12.10 and everything is back to normal. Unfortunately, I upgraded to 13.12 because I got COD Ghosts, which had a lot of weird graphics issues with 12.10 and 13.12 fixed them. Performance with Ghosts is quite reasonable, so the trade-off is Black Ops being unplayable. I have an old 1GB 5570 card, which I realize is hardly state-of-the-art, but it's been fine with all my games up until now. I plan to build a new computer soon anyway and will look at something like the 4GB 290.Off topic, but why doesn't a mouse click move the cursor when I'm composing this message and want to back track to fix something?

-------------------------
Statistics
87610 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.