Topic Title: Cannot play OpenGL/Direct3D games, please help.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/23/2013 07:47 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/23/2013 07:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TR1941
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/23/2013

Hey everyone,

My computer crashes with literally any game that uses OpenGL or DirectX graphics

Game runs perfectly and within 5 to 10 minutes the screen freezes, goes black and I get a VPU recovery window saying how the display drivers were not responding and had to be reset. Sometimes I don't get one at all and the screen goes black, forcing me to reset.

I have tried like 20 different versions of older/newer/unofficial drivers but the problem remains.

I've tried everything, checked temperatures, they're all fine, disabled overclocking, disabled DirectDraw/hardware acceleration, and nothing. I recently switched to the 13.1 ATI drivers and it just worsened it.

Please help, I'm desperate!

My computer specs:

AMD Athlon II X2 3.0 Ghz

ATI Radeon HD 5450

4 GB RAM

Windows XP SP2

500W PSU

ASUS M4N68T-M Motherboard



Edited: 01/30/2013 at 06:03 AM by TR1941
 01/23/2013 10:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12879
Joined: 04/17/2008

Sounds like a power problem but unless you only have a 200w unbranded one it shouldn't be it. Need to install SP3 if you want to continue using XP as well.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/23/2013 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TR1941
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/23/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion Sounds like a power problem but unless you only have a 200w unbranded one it shouldn't be it. Need to install SP3 if you want to continue using XP as well.

 

Sorry, I forgot to list the PSU, I have a 500w one and never had any problems with it.

 01/28/2013 10:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TR1941
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 01/23/2013

Come on, anyone?

 01/29/2013 02:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
goodplay
Cookie Monster

Posts: 435
Joined: 08/21/2011

b_z.mentioned SP3 in his reply(which leads me to wonder if you do M.S. updates)(20+ drivers?).See you just added mobo to specs(nv chipset).has it been disabled?. in conflict with amd card?What was last amd driver that worked?Is this a dell,hp,or other prebuilt system. 

-------------------------

i5 3570k(@4.5)./ga-z77x-ud5h-wb./hyper T4./2 x 4gb vengeance 1600 c8./sapphire dualX 7970 3gb OC boost v2./1tb WD FAEX Black./lg bh10 blu-ray r.w../corsair hx850./antec df30./z506 spkrs./lg e2240v./win 8(8.1) pro x64 

Statistics
87481 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.