Topic Title: Halo CE error...
Topic Summary: Halo CE won't play because of error...
Created On: 01/31/2013 10:13 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/31/2013 10:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elcapitain44
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/31/2013

I've tried playing Halo CE on a rig I recently built. I keep getting "Halo fatal error"...( a problem ocurred initializing Direct 3D. Hardware acceleration maybe disabled, please run dxdiag.) Direct 3d is enabled...and both tests are fine.

Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3,

Intel Core i7 2600K,

Corsair XMS3 4x 4GB,

Radeon HD 6870,

Ultra X4 750w modular

Catalyst Control Center

Driver Packaging Version 9.00.100.2-121129a1-151724C-ATI 
Catalyst™ Version 13.1 
Provider AMD. 
2D Driver Version 6.14.10.7279 
2D Driver File Path System/CurrentControlSet/Control/Video/{62EF20C5-7B66-4AF8-9EDD-AE0F6F911D1C}/0000 
Direct3D Version 6.14.10.0939 
OpenGL Version 6.14.10.11927 
Catalyst™ Control Center Version 2012.1129.1016.18318 

Has anyone experienced this problem?

According to AMD's "Can You Run It?" my rig should run this game......am I doin' somethin' wrong here? I THINK I've included all necesary info?

Any HELP would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I can't run Freelancer either..UGH!

 01/31/2013 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12370
Joined: 04/17/2008

Yea, Freelancer from 2003 and Halo from 2001...Graphics hardware and software is most likely to new for the games to recognize. I know Halo:CE protests when I try to run it with my 5970, it detects the memory as 0MB and clock speeds as 000/000mhz.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/09/2013 01:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1045
Joined: 11/22/2010

Try.. XP compability mode from properties? If that doesn't help, also try disabling desktop composition from the same place. Some older games just hate aero.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
Statistics
84887 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.