Topic Title: Radeon graphics card stops responding and it recovers
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/02/2013 02:51 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/02/2013 02:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
biginboy3
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/02/2013

Graphics Card

- XFX Ghost Amd Radeon 7700 HD series
- No overclocking

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
- Positive latest version just updated before posting

Operating System
- windows 7 64 bit
- n/a

Issue Details
- Basically whenever i play a game with advance graphics ie. Guild wars 2 the grame freezes
- as  i said before the game freezes the screen goes black and it will recover and i will get the notification "the graphics card has stopped responding and recovered sucessfully"
-for guild wars 2 i just choose "auto detect" which includes most settings and med or high. I turned anti aliasing off because it seems to help the freezing a little bit but it still happens quite often.
- n/a

Motherboard or System Make & Model
- HP p6-2014

Power Supply

- dynex 520 watt
- http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Dynex%22+-+520W+ATX+CPU+Power+Supply/2658156.p?id=1218342638023&skuId=2658156&utm_campaign=bazaarvoice&utm_medium=SearchVoice&utm_source=RatingsAndReviews&utm_content=Default

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
- HP 2011 series widescreen hd monitor
- standard stock cable that came with monitor and pc, no splitters

Applications and Games

- any pc games with higher end graphics this occurs generally speaking the more dated the graphics the less it crashes
- n/a

CPU Details
- AMD A6-3600 with Radeon HD Graphics 2.10 GHz quad core
- n/a

Motherboard BIOS Version
- the BIOS version is displayed as soon as your system is powered on (ex: ASUS BIOS 1015)

System Memory Type & Amount
- DDR3 8G Ram

Additional Hardware
-all stock hardware installed other then what was mentioned earlier
Additional Details
-factory reset my computer a day before posting this. Ive cleaned the registry. Tried modifying the registry. No changes have been made to my computer since wiping other then reinstalling games and drivers and making sure they are all up to date
- n/a

 

 

 02/02/2013 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
biginboy3
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/02/2013

*bios version: AMI 7.06 8/16/2011

 02/02/2013 09:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Dynex blows. If your gpu starts demanding more power when you start a 'more demanding' game, the gpu starts making calculation errors and the game will crash. Get a Corsair or Seasonic brand psu from 550w - 600w range and see the crashes magically disappear.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 02/02/2013 09:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
biginboy3
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/02/2013

You might be right but i dont think that is directly the problem because before using my integrated graphics card i never had this issue. If i do decide to get a power supply with higher watts will i be able to get one that is the same size because its already cramed inside my tower.

 02/04/2013 12:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3508
Joined: 03/01/2009

If you are useing this video card 

http://xfxforce.com/en-gb/Products/Graphics-Cards/AMD/AMD-Radeon-HD-7000/AMD-Radeon-HD-7770/FX-777A-ZDSC.aspx

and this power supply. 

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Dynex%22++520W+ATX+CPU+Power+Supply/2658156.pid=1218342638023&skuId=2658156&utm_campaign=bazaarvoice&utm_medium=SearchVoice&utm_source=RatingsAndReviews&utm_content=Default#tab=reviews

Then you have a POS 400W PSU (on its best day) thats rated at a PEAK output of 520W. And a continous claimed output of 400W. Which is still short of the recommended specifications of said video card. (And highly doubtful it even delievers that much reliably.) 

And of course you won't have a problem with intergrated graphics seeing as how they use very little power hince why they are so weak compaired to dedicated cards to begin with. (not to mention the A6 intergrated graphics are a joke when compaired to the 7700 series)

A 7770 series uses more power then the A6 in your PC. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 02/04/2013 08:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
biginboy3
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/02/2013

if you are 100% confident that that is the issue what size power supply would you recomend and what brand. If at all possible could you send me a link aswell. I dont want to spend much more than 50-75$ if i can help it.

 

 

 02/04/2013 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

A good one to get would be the Corsair TX550, it's a good capacity, a quality make, and very budget friendly.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
85384 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.