Topic Title: Tomb Raider 2013 framerate Bombs!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/06/2013 06:53 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/06/2013 06:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

The framerate is very inconsistent. It can 60-80 fps looking in one direction, then bomb in the 20's or worse. The benchmark tool with the game is not the most taxing level and is not a true representation of overall performance. I have tryed various different drivers and I have tryed overclocking my cpu with no change in performance.

Phenom II X4 955 BE 3.2Ghz (3.8Ghz OC)

Sapphire HD7870 2GB

Samsung SSD 250gb

Corsair DDR3 8GB 1600mhz

Catalyst 13.2 Beta 7

 

 03/06/2013 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Genjin88
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 02/27/2013

I have a similar setup (only difference is I have a Asus 7870 and a Intel 2500k) and in my case the issue was caused by TressFX. As soon as I disabled it I could enjoy it on maxed out Settings (except TressFX) and it ran smooth as butter. Maybe it's the same for you.

 03/06/2013 07:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

I have disabled Tressfx and I have lowered the settings. The mountain village area or level of the game is one example of this inconsistent performance. Try it. Also which drivers are you using?

 03/06/2013 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11581
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's a game less than 24 hours old, what are you people expecting?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/06/2013 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion It's a game less than 24 hours old, what are you people expecting?

Whats you performance like?

 03/06/2013 09:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11581
Joined: 04/17/2008

I don't rush out and buy games on the day they're released

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/07/2013 12:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1207
Joined: 07/13/2009

I get a steady 60fps with vsync on once I disable TressFX, though with a fair amount more hardware behind it (3930K @4.6GHz, two 7970's at 1200/1500).

Are you sure you're still getting drops into the 20's without TressFX?

 

 03/07/2013 10:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

I have tressfx off. The areas of the game with large vistas. Have a very large performance hit, no matter what setting. I have tried forcing the game to run in dx9 and I only gained about 5 frames. Disappointing.

 03/07/2013 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

Most users with a similar setup to me, but with an intel cpu are getting solid performance. I though this game was optimized for AMD?

 03/07/2013 07:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1207
Joined: 07/13/2009

I've since found that there are places where the frame rate drops down to around 40, where a huge portion of the map is visible at once.

As for the optimization, that would be the GPU, not CPU.  By all accounts, the game runs much better with AMD graphics than nVidia.  I just hope AMD didn't take a page from nVidia and have the developer intentionally cripple the game for the competition. 

 

 03/07/2013 08:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

I have to set the game to medium with tressfx , tessalation off and textures to high to get a playable framerate. The Hd 7870 shouldn't be struggle to run this game. Not getting any problems with any other game only this one.

 03/08/2013 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1207
Joined: 07/13/2009

It's a brand new game that uses many DX11 features to produce pretty damn good graphics.  Why would you think a 7870 should be able to run it at the highest possible detail levels with no problem?

This is a demanding game that really takes advantage of PC graphics capabilities, not a mere console port.  You're being unreasonable in your expectations.

 

 03/08/2013 07:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

Your calling the Hd 7870 a weak card? Not matter what setting the game is on the framerate is not stable, it has nothing to do which how powerful the system is. Shouldn't take more than 7870 to run a console game with tacked on dx11 features. Game needs a driver.

 03/08/2013 07:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

This guys performance on Ultra looks great. "http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q8pYkWpBOT0". He has gtx 560ti, which is a weaker card. The area in the game on the video on my system runs at about 60-70 then bombs down to 15-20 fps.

 03/08/2013 11:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 576
Joined: 08/28/2012

Sometimes I hate youtube.  Like now.  It's like it replaced TV in the whole "I saw it on TV so it must be real" thing.

Anyway... I'm not sure what you're trying to accomplish here dude, but I'm pretty sure you're going about it all wrong.  This process of going to a forum, asking questions, and then acting on the responses you get works much better if you actually do act on the responses in one way or another.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 03/08/2013 11:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
abohamed
Buffed

Posts: 100
Joined: 11/30/2012

well .. i get this game just few hours ago .. and yes i must turn off the TressFX option and the tessalation with AA set on FXAA to get a steady 30 - 40 FPS ( which is very playable for me ) with everything else on ULTRA with my setup below ... SO i think your problem is in your CPU because your 7870 can eat my card on breakfest



-------------------------

Asus EAH 5770 CU core , Intel i7 3770 @ 3.90 GHz 8M Cache , GA P75-D3 , Corsair 8 GB DDR3 RAM , Cooler master extreme 500 W PSU , Win 8.1 64 bit enterprise



Edited: 03/08/2013 at 11:44 PM by abohamed
 03/09/2013 11:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

The cpu overclocked to 3.8 ghz shouldn't be bottlenecking my system. I can run crysis 3 on high settings with some settings on ultra and get 40fps or more stable.

 03/10/2013 07:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1207
Joined: 07/13/2009

First, whether or not a game is CPU-bound depends on the game.  It's simply not the case that you can reach a given speed, then declare you're not CPU bound. 

As far as Tomb Raider is concerned, you're probably not CPU bound, because the game is very demanding on the GPU, and it appears to be well threaded.

The overall conclusion you seem to be avoiding, however, is that your 7870 is not a Cray supercomputer, and it's entirely unreasonable for you to expect it to deliver acceptable performance with the max settings in every single game. 

The idea that "tacked on dx11 features" are trivial additions which should have no impact on performance is absurd.  Tessellation alone provides a substantial increase in graphical fidelity at a non-trivial cost in performance.  You need to seriously recalibrate your understanding.

 

 

 03/10/2013 02:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Garm31
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 03/06/2013

If you read the post, you would see that I am not play tomb raider on max settings. I am talking about an inconsistant not stable framerate, not matter what setting. The benchmark that comes with the game is not the most taxing level, getting 60 -100 fps , what a joke. The later areas are cripling.

 03/10/2013 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6093
Joined: 11/13/2009

Tomb Raider gpu benchmarks...

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1749378



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

Statistics
81002 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.