Topic Title: Problem with framerate in game Arctic Combat
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/03/2013 05:59 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/03/2013 05:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDuser0
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/06/2013

Hello, I am having problem with my laptop and game Arctic Combat. The framerate drops from 85 to 20 and the game is not fuid to play. I am using HP Probook 4720s with Intel Core i3 380M CPU , 4 GB DDR3 1333 MHz RAM, AMD HD Radeon 6370M 1 GB GPU. My driver version is 9.2 released on 27 September 2012, and I can not update my drivers because my laptop is not recognizing anything from the AMD site. I am using Windows 8 Pro x64 bit and the drivers are the default ones which come with windows. I downgraded to Windows 7 to try because some are saying that you should not install any other Windows on a laptop than the one it has come with, but even on windows 7 with the drivers from the official HP site the framerate still drops. Any help ?

 04/04/2013 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6101
Joined: 11/13/2009

I know its hard to find...but you have the option to post your LAPTOP problems in a LAPTOP forum where this issue has been asked and answered hundreds of times. Read this > http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=448&threadid=164915&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/04/2013 06:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDuser0
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/06/2013

Well this is a problem with the game, on other games there is no framerate drop only on this.I tried the Leshcats drivers but it says no hardware ID's matching, so I downloaded the drivers from your benchmark3D link and they work. Now the framerate drops from 82 to 50 and it lags sometimes. At least it is a bit better, but still it is not as when I first installed the game, it worked fluid with no framerate drop at all.



Edited: 04/04/2013 at 06:30 PM by AMDuser0
 04/04/2013 06:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6101
Joined: 11/13/2009

Are you using verticle sync?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/04/2013 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDuser0
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/06/2013

No, vertical sync is off.

 04/04/2013 06:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDuser0
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/06/2013

And I tried lowering details and resolution and the result is the same, max FPS is 82 on all settings, and it drops.

 04/04/2013 07:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6101
Joined: 11/13/2009

You should try using vert sync. Would you rather have fluctuating 80-50 fps or a solid 60fps?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/06/2013 01:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDuser0
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/06/2013

I'll try with v sync on and check if there is any FR drop.

 04/06/2013 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDuser0
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/06/2013

I tried but when v sync is on my game is shuttering, like lagging when off it works normal and fluid but when one single oponent jumps in front of me the framerate drops too low.

 04/07/2013 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AMDuser0
Peon

Posts: 12
Joined: 03/06/2013

So I tried everything, does anyone have any ideas what it could be. When I first played the game it worked perfectly, but  now the framerate drops every time someone appears in front of me ?

Statistics
81022 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.