Topic Title: Max Payne 1 and 2 not running with latest drivers
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/26/2013 08:50 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/26/2013 08:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ancalimon
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/06/2009

I have installed 13.5 beta2 driver.

I don't know the last driver in which Max Payne1 (and possibly Max Payne 2  too) was running. probably 12.6 beta from what I read in steam forums)

When I run the steam version of the game, nothing happens. I can see the task max payne.exe running but the game won't start.

 04/26/2013 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7277
Joined: 11/13/2009

Please read the sticky "Read Before Posting".
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y

We need to know:

1. Processor (I5-xxxx, A10-xxxx, etc)
2. Graphics card (HD6970, HD4850, Mobility, etc)
3. OS (Win7, Win8, WinXP, 32 or 64bit, etc)
4. Driver version (13.2, 12.10, etc)
5. Power Supply..list make and model (not just wattage)
6. RAM
7. Did your computer come with the OS and Graphics card you have now?
8. Monitor resolution (native), connected by (DVI, HDMI, etc)


If this is a LAPTOP please post in the correct forum...that would be the laptop forum   http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&entercat=y


If your issue is resolved, be a helpful forum user and report back the steps that you used. It will help other users.

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/26/2013 12:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zhe2605
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/23/2013

max payne 1,2 runs great for me on 13.5, im very happy (on 13.1-13.3 didnt work). 
just put compability with 98\me and run as admin 

 04/26/2013 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ancalimon
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/06/2009

Originally posted by: stumped Please read the sticky "Read Before Posting". http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y

 

We need to know:

 

1. Processor (I5-xxxx, A10-xxxx, etc) 2. Graphics card (HD6970, HD4850, Mobility, etc) 3. OS (Win7, Win8, WinXP, 32 or 64bit, etc) 4. Driver version (13.2, 12.10, etc) 5. Power Supply..list make and model (not just wattage) 6. RAM 7. Did your computer come with the OS and Graphics card you have now? 8. Monitor resolution (native), connected by (DVI, HDMI, etc)

 

If this is a LAPTOP please post in the correct forum...that would be the laptop forum   http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&entercat=y

 

If your issue is resolved, be a helpful forum user and report back the steps that you used. It will help other users.

 

 

 

 

Sorry.

 

CPU: Intel 3820 3.8 Ghz

RAM: 8GB

GPU: XFX 7970 Black Double Dissipation (3GB)

PSU: Xilence Redwing 800W

OS: Windows7 64

Using 1680-1050 on DVI.

 

No. I used to have WindowsXP before and had a Ati 6850 GPU

 

Using compatibity settings has no effect. The only thing it does is it makes Steam give out an error.

 

EDIT: Just found out that the game works if you set affinity to 1 when starting it so that it uses only one the cores of the CPU.



Edited: 04/26/2013 at 03:32 PM by ancalimon
 05/02/2013 10:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zhe2605
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/23/2013

 

EDIT: Just found out that the game works if you set affinity to 1 when starting it so that it uses only one the cores of the CPU.

 



It's the same as compability mode setting. 

 08/22/2013 05:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zhe2605
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 03/23/2013

Update:
On 13.8 Beta 2 Max Payne 1,2 not launching again. 
On 13.5 - 13.8 Beta worked fine in compability with win98/me (1 processor core)

CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 940 3.0 Ghz

RAM: 5GB DDR2

GPU: XFX fx-785a-cnjc

PSU: 500W

OS: Windows7 x64 

Statistics
86454 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.