Topic Title: gpu not going into high performance mode when playing minecraft!
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/04/2013 12:58 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/04/2013 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lkjhj6
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2013

when i launch minecraft my gpu is not using its full power like it would when i play any other games so i get like 20-30 fps and i have a radeon hd 7870 how can i make it go into high proformance? 

 05/04/2013 01:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lkjhj6
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2013

someone please help!

 05/04/2013 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7052
Joined: 11/13/2009

Please read the sticky "Read Before Posting".

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y

We need to know:

1. Processor (I5-xxxx, A10-xxxx, etc)
2. Graphics card (HD6970, HD4850, etc)
3. OS (Win7, Win8, WinXP, 32 or 64bit, etc)
4. Driver version (13.2, 12.10, etc)
5. Power Supply..list make and model (not just wattage)
6. RAM
7. Did your computer come with the OS and Graphics card you have now?
8. Monitor resolution (native) and connection (DVI, HDMI, VGA, etc)

If this issue is with a LAPTOP please post in the correct forum...that would be the laptop forum   http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&entercat=y

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/04/2013 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lkjhj6
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2013

AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00 GHz

 HD 7870

windows 7 x64

driver version 13.5

psu - unknown sorry 

8gb ddr3

came with os

monitor resolution 1366 x 768

connected by dvi

 

 05/04/2013 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lkjhj6
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2013

can anyone help please i want to play minecraft!! 

 05/04/2013 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lkjhj6
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2013

please help!

 05/04/2013 03:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1300
Joined: 07/13/2009

I believe Minecraft is a fairly CPU-heavy program, but I'm not sure how much so.

There are basically two possibilities you should investigate:

1)  You're using the GPU for video acceleration, which would prevent it from reaching maximum clock speeds.  That includes pretty much any desktop video player, and any flash player in a web browser if you have acceleration enabled (you can disable it by right-clicking on the flash player control, selecting Settings, then unchecking the box).

2)  Your CPU is the bottleneck.  It's only able to prepare so many frames per second for rendering, and as a result, the GPU can meet its burden without even ramping up to full speed.  You can check this by monitoring your CPU usage.  If it's at or near 100% (or 50% for any game which is single-threaded), the CPU is holding the GPU back.

In the second case, your options are overclocking and getting a new (faster) CPU.  There's definitely a power mismatch between that CPU and that GPU.

 

 05/04/2013 03:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lkjhj6
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2013

im unsure what you mean about the flash player and i dont think its bottleneck as every other game works fine i have played biosock infinite, battlefield 3 and skyrim all in ultra and they work perfectly with about 50-90 fps. i have also read that minecraft isn't  classed as a game by amd cards and doesnt run in high performence giving it low fps which would make sence as my gpu temp and clock doesnt chnage when minecraft is running. 

 05/04/2013 05:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7052
Joined: 11/13/2009

Ultra? With that processor? That is a low end- mid range processor. Laptops used that processor and that was the less expensive laptops.Check it out:

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/mid_range_cpus.html

edit: take the side off your computer and read the sticker on the power supply.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/04/2013 06:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lkjhj6
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2013

yes ultra, the cpu does not really affect fps that much in games i run everything in ultra wit 50-90 fps no problem apart from minecraft 

 05/04/2013 06:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lkjhj6
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2013

the psu is 750w

 05/04/2013 11:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1300
Joined: 07/13/2009

Your CPU is going to be a bottleneck for that GPU in a number of games.  That's not speculation.  That's a well-established fact.  The only question here is whether or not Minecraft is one of them.

As I explained, you need to check your CPU usage while running Minecraft to answer that question definitively.

I've since found out that the game is single-threaded without a mod called Optifine, which means if your CPU usage is reported as 50%, you are CPU-bound.

Given the facts I know right now, I'd say that you are, in fact, almost certainly CPU-bound in Minecraft.

 05/05/2013 12:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lkjhj6
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 05/04/2013

it is using a lot of my cpu but at the same time it doesnt use my gpu at all 

is there any way i can set applications to go on high proformance with my gpu?

 

 05/05/2013 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1300
Joined: 07/13/2009

You're missing the point.

For each frame generated for display, there are a set of tasks to complete.  Some of them are done by the CPU, and some by the GPU.

The CPU has its own maximum frame rate - it can prepare only so many frames per second for the GPU to work on.

What's happening in your case is that the maximum frame rate your CPU supports is so low compared to the maximum frame rate that your GPU can handle that the GPU doesn't have to reach maximum clock speed to keep up.

Consider an analogy with cars.  Car 'A' is a compact with a 90hp engine.  If you press the accelerator to the floor, you might get up to about 75 miles per hour.  Now put a 300hp sports car next to it.  You don't need to floor it with the sports car to keep up with the compact.

Your CPU is the compact car - it's going as fast as it can.  Your GPU, by comparison, is a sports car.  It doesn't need to go as fast as it can to keep up - the GPU clock rate can remain at the middle speed and still render frames as fast as the CPU can prepare them.  You would gain absolutely nothing by forcing the GPU to its highest clock speed.

Your only option to increase performance is to overclock or replace your CPU.

Statistics
84245 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.