Topic Title: Old games on new graphics card
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/01/2013 05:57 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/01/2013 05:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mammoth
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/01/2013

Hello. At start i must sorry for my 'pr0' english...

Ok, i have a problem with old game - Neverwinter Nights (1 ofc)

When i running it i got a bug "Neverwinter Nights performed an illegal operation and will be shut down" - or somethink like that. I swapped a file '
atioglxx.dll' and now i have intro in game, but then i see only mouse cursor on blackscreen.

There is my dxdiag file - http://www.sendspace.com/file/7sbnr4

Radeon HD 5750

 06/02/2013 10:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12653
Joined: 04/17/2008

I played NWN on my HD 5970 perfectly fine with Catalyst 12.10.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/03/2013 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mammoth
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/01/2013

I have 13.1, but im afraid about install older catalyst will not help. You had same problem with newest catalyst version?

 06/03/2013 08:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Don't forget to disable desktop composition and enable XP SP3 compability mode, otherwise it will just crash on start. The game hates aero.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 06/03/2013 08:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12653
Joined: 04/17/2008

Also try launching it right from nwnmain.exe without a shortcut and XP compatibility mode. I don't believe you will be able to see cutscenes (I can't) and you can't use shiny water.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/04/2013 09:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mammoth
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/01/2013

Originally posted by: zipsi Don't forget to disable desktop composition and enable XP SP3 compability mode, otherwise it will just crash on start. The game hates aero.

 


I have Windows XP SP3 ;P

Originally posted by: black_zion Also try launching it right from nwnmain.exe without a shortcut and XP compatibility mode. I don't believe you will be able to see cutscenes (I can't) and you can't use shiny water.

Same as top

 

 06/04/2013 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12653
Joined: 04/17/2008

Ah good. Old games, old OS, use an old driver set.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/05/2013 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7271
Joined: 11/13/2009

Try around 12.4...all previous xp drivers > http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/Pages/radeonaiw_xp.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/10/2013 06:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mammoth
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/01/2013

Hmmm, and now i have a second problem. If i istall previous driver, other game (Kingdoms of Amalur) should working bad. I remember time after premiere of this game - when i moving mouse my FPS was going heavy down, now i haven;t this problem with new drivers.

So i must choose 1 game
KoA or NWN1... ;(

 06/10/2013 09:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12653
Joined: 04/17/2008

Or you could just upgrade to Windows 7 which seems to run both fine.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/10/2013 03:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mammoth
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/01/2013

Nope, i dont like Windows 7. Many people wanted me to install Windows 7 for play with them in Battlefield 3, Crysis 3 and others, but no. Even for the C&C Beta i wont install Windows 7. Ill neverer install Windows 7 for a game.

 06/10/2013 03:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

XP is old and insecure and nobody cares for old operating systems anymore cause.. people have to move on with newer software



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 06/10/2013 04:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12653
Joined: 04/17/2008

Say that again next year when XP is finally dead and it becomes the largest target for hackers for unpatched security holes, and for which no company in their right mind will continue to write drivers for.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/12/2013 02:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GeneralScorpion
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/11/2013

i wrote a post for the old game as well,but i havent tried using old driver,i dont know which ones i can use...if someone can point it out to me i've got HD 6800 desktop graphic car. i'd like to know which is the oldest driver i could use to try out...so i can try them one by one

p.s xp is best OS for gaming and gamers and its most simple to use as well and more economical see while some people struggle to play a game that requires 3-4 ram on win7 i can play that game like a KING on xp with same amount of ram and lets not forget the crashes i've been on pc playing games and trying out lots of softwares i've only recently encountered the games i couldnt play they were bf3 that asks for dx10 but 70% games i tried out on win 7 didnt start,they asked for some extra setups in properties or so...they crashed,they worked fine then suddenly stopped and not even reinstall could help,also it was noted some extreme glitches and slow play...

drivers are one thing... more or less u could ignore that as long as the pc works... the other thing is drivers dont protect your pc from hacking,thats what firewalls and antiviruses do bro

so you say that again when you get a break down cuz a game keeps crashing,bugging or lagging or wont start at all btw i dont think that hackers will stick around on hacking xp that will be used mostly by gamer nerds...it's most likley that they will move on to where most people does



-------------------------
Have No Fear The Scorpion Is Here
 06/13/2013 12:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mammoth
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 06/01/2013

Hehe, this isnt problem. I visiting only thrustet sites and i using commercial internet security software.

Ok, i know what i have to do.

BTW. many people still using Windows 95/98 and they havent viruses, hackers atack etc.

 06/13/2013 02:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12653
Joined: 04/17/2008

"many people" are still using Windows 95/98? Maybe on a legacy machine for old games, not a primary OS.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/13/2013 02:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GeneralScorpion
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/11/2013

Originally posted by: black_zion "many people" are still using Windows 95/98? Maybe on a legacy machine for old games, not a primary OS.

 

soo?thats their problem but games on 98 are close to SEGA games,i'd rather have sega than 95/98 bro



-------------------------
Have No Fear The Scorpion Is Here
 06/13/2013 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7271
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: GeneralScorpion i wrote a post for the old game as well,but i havent tried using old driver,i dont know which ones i can use...if someone can point it out to me i've got HD 6800 desktop graphic car. i'd like to know which is the oldest driver i could use to try out...so i can try them one by one

p.s xp is best OS for gaming and gamers and its most simple to use as well and more economical see while some people struggle to play a game that requires 3-4 ram on win7 i can play that game like a KING on xp with same amount of ram and lets not forget the crashes i've been on pc playing games and trying out lots of softwares i've only recently encountered the games i couldnt play they were bf3 that asks for dx10 but 70% games i tried out on win 7 didnt start,they asked for some extra setups in properties or so...they crashed,they worked fine then suddenly stopped and not even reinstall could help,also it was noted some extreme glitches and slow play...

drivers are one thing... more or less u could ignore that as long as the pc works... the other thing is drivers dont protect your pc from hacking,thats what firewalls and antiviruses do bro

so you say that again when you get a break down cuz a game keeps crashing,bugging or lagging or wont start at all btw i dont think that hackers will stick around on hacking xp that will be used mostly by gamer nerds...it's most likley that they will move on to where most people does

Here ya go > http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/13/2013 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GeneralScorpion
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/11/2013

 

Here ya go > http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/previous/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx

 

actualy im on xp 32 bit

i found it on your previous reply but im actualy asking can i use all of them on my hd 6800 without problem? o.O?



-------------------------
Have No Fear The Scorpion Is Here
Statistics
86397 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.