Topic Title: Lag in Games
Topic Summary: So much lag...
Created On: 06/14/2013 06:35 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/11/2013 05:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

I downloaded GPU-Z; and moved the slider to 20. The highest temp was 49 degrees Celcius, and the highest GPU Load was 98%. I wasn't even playing in a room with lots of grenades and rockets, it was a simple game with 2 people. I noticed that it seemed like it was lagging at times, yet my fps reading(on Bandicam) was over 300 most of the time....and I was playing on lowest graphical settings.

 07/11/2013 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6122
Joined: 11/13/2009

Your definition of LAG is suspect. You were asked 30 posts or so ago if your game 'lagged' when you play off line. You responded 'played single player'. That is not offline. You have to set graphics in the game.....every game. I can tell you didn't. Not with some program showing 300fps. You should really consider a x-box.

 Somebody else take over the class....



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/11/2013 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

I did set the graphics in the game.....

 07/12/2013 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

Stumped, I'm new to this stuff. I learn new things everyday...

 07/12/2013 04:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11614
Joined: 04/17/2008

Simple internet searches could have saved you a couple of pages of asking about CCC settings or the power slider, and doing things stumped asked could have saved you days of waiting. Hell, you never even tried a clean copy of Windows as I asked you to try a month ago.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/13/2013 12:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

We are ordering a copy of Windows 8.

 07/13/2013 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11614
Joined: 04/17/2008

Uh, why? Were you using a pirated copy of Windows 7?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/15/2013 10:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

No. Why does that matter?

 07/16/2013 11:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11614
Joined: 04/17/2008

Just wondering why you would waste money on Windows 8 instead of just doing a clean install of Windows 7...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/18/2013 04:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

Oh, okay. So....anything else I can try before Windows arrives? Could it be a faulty gpu?

 07/18/2013 05:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Do you have VSYNC enabled in the games that you play or within CCC?



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 07/18/2013 09:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

Originally posted by: Canis-X Do you have VSYNC enabled in the games that you play or within CCC?

 

 

Where can I view that option within CCC?

 07/19/2013 12:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Not sure, you'll have to look around.  It can cause lagy behavior though.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 07/19/2013 01:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

You're right, your system should smoke those games.

Ignore the request to partition your 60GB SSD, as that is a waste of time. Never defragment a SSD! Also, reinstalling Windows is what you do when you have exhausted all other options; it is absoutely never the first thing to do. Don't tell someone who doesn't know what he's doing to monkey around with CCC settings; Pengasaurus2, please open CCC and click the Default button at the bottom of the window and then close it. And, black_zion, please define "squiffy."

Instead, we'll take some easy steps to troubleshoot the issue.

It sounds like your computer is either getting too hot, something is not getting enough power, or your SSD is too full.

1. Download and install speedfan to monitor your temperatures; click on the link that says SpeedFan 4.49. Once it's installed, run the application, and play any game. While playing the game, hold the Alt key on your keyboard and then press the Tab key on your keyboard: this shifts your focus from the game to your Windows Desktop; now you may read SpeedFan while the game is running. What are the Core and GPU temps?

2. Turn your computer off and unplug it from the wall. Now, look inside the case and ensure all fans (CPU and case fans) are plugged into the motherboard; also, ensure the GPU has a 6-pin power cable connected to it, or 2 if it requires them. You might need to read your motherboard manual, or look it up Online if you don't have one. Ensure all fans are spinning when the machine is on.

3. Double-click My Computer; how much space is free on your C: drive? You want at least 12GB free on your 60GB SSD.

If the games ran smooth before, but then began to lag, you might try installing CCleaner and cleaning your C: drive; clean it twice in a row the first time you run it.

You people should be ashamed of yourselves for giving such terrible advice and being so rude to someone who needs help. You'll get a lot more with honey than you will vinegar.

Don't hesitate to PM me if you want any additional help.



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case



Edited: 07/19/2013 at 02:11 AM by Hrothgar
 07/19/2013 02:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

Originally posted by: Hrothgar You're right, your system should smoke those games.

 

Ignore the request to partition your 60GB SSD, as that is a waste of time. Never defragment a SSD! Also, reinstalling Windows is what you do when you have exhausted all other options; it is absoutely never the first thing to do. Don't tell someone who doesn't know what he's doing to monkey around with CCC settings; Pengasaurus2, please open CCC and click the Default button at the bottom of the window and then close it. And, black_zion, please define "squiffy."

 

Instead, we'll take some easy steps to troubleshoot the issue.

 

It sounds like your computer is either getting too hot, something is not getting enough power, or your SSD is too full.

 

1. Download and install speedfan to monitor your temperatures; click on the link that says SpeedFan 4.49. Once it's installed, run the application, and play any game. While playing the game, hold the Alt key on your keyboard and then press the Tab key on your keyboard: this shifts your focus from the game to your Windows Desktop; now you may read SpeedFan while the game is running. What are the Core and GPU temps?

 

2. Turn your computer off and unplug it from the wall. Now, look inside the case and ensure all fans (CPU and case fans) are plugged into the motherboard; also, ensure the GPU has a 6-pin power cable connected to it, or 2 if it requires them. You might need to read your motherboard manual, or look it up Online if you don't have one. Ensure all fans are spinning when the machine is on.

 

3. Double-click My Computer; how much space is free on your C: drive? You want at least 12GB free on your 60GB SSD.

 

If the games ran smooth before, but then began to lag, you might try installing CCleaner and cleaning your C: drive; clean it twice in a row the first time you run it.

 

You people should be ashamed of yourselves for giving such terrible advice and being so rude to someone who needs help. You'll get a lot more with honey than you will vinegar.

 

Don't hesitate to PM me if you want any additional help.

 

 

Just a comment about my GPU. It's a new one that uses 8-pin cables instead of 6-pin cables.

Do you have skype? (easier than forum)

 07/20/2013 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

bump

 07/24/2013 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

Hey hrothgar, you there?

 

Do you have skype??

 07/31/2013 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

I do not have skype.

Your PSU has 6-pin connectors for PCIe cards which also have an extra 2-Pins on the side; attach the extra 2-Pin addition and install it. What other recommendations did you try?

I'm sorry I left you in the lurch for so long; I did not subscribe to this topic. I subscribed today.



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case

 08/14/2013 10:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Pengasaurus2
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 06/14/2013

Originally posted by: Hrothgar I do not have skype.

 

Your PSU has 6-pin connectors for PCIe cards which also have an extra 2-Pins on the side; attach the extra 2-Pin addition and install it. What other recommendations did you try?

 

I'm sorry I left you in the lurch for so long; I did not subscribe to this topic. I subscribed today.

 

I've had them all connected from the beginning......

 08/14/2013 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

Which other recommendations did you try?



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case

AMD Support and Game » Games and Applications Help » Lag in Games

<< 1 2 3 4 5 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
81132 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 7 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.