Topic Title: BSOD "ATIKMDAG.sys"
Topic Summary: I know about existing KB article
Created On: 07/12/2013 05:47 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/12/2013 05:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Do_omer
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/12/2013

The 1st year of using the new computer went well. But then I got this problem in some videogames. I tried every way to troubleshoot it, except updating BIOS and VBIOS, because it's too risky. Maybe it could happen because of compatibility issue of a new driver and VBIOS. So I think you can just recommend me a working version of videodriver. I installed old one (from CD), but there were another BSOD associated with too old driver version.

Information:

Graphics Card Manufacturer    Powered by AMD
Graphics Chipset    ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
Device ID    6899
Vendor ID    1002
Subsystem ID    2290
Subsystem Vendor ID    1787
Graphics Bus Capability    PCI Express 2.0
Maximum Bus Setting    PCI Express 2.0 x16
BIOS Version    012.019.000.002
BIOS Part Number    113-C00802-J02
BIOS Date    2010/03/16
Memory Size    1024 MB
Memory Type    GDDR5
Core Clock in MHz    760 MHz
Memory Clock in MHz    1050 MHz
Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s    134,4 GByte/s

The latest driver version (
13.4   5/29/2013)

 

Motherboard: ASUS M4A87TD/USB3

 

OS: Windows7 Ultimate Service Pack 1

 

CPU: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 3,4 GHz

 

The bugcheck is: 0x00000050 (0xfffff820108b0140, 0x0000000000000000, 0xfffff880050d04a3, 0x0000000000000005).

"atikmdag.sys" and sometimes "dxgmms1.sys"
BSOD happens almost in every match in DOTA or Counter-Strike:GO and never in Killing Floor.

 07/12/2013 06:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6091
Joined: 11/13/2009

Please read the sticky "Read Before Posting".
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y

 

To make it easier to assist you please supply the following:
            ( Please don't paste dxdiag )

1. Processor (I5-xxxx, A10-xxxx, etc)
2. Graphics card (HD6970, HD4850, Mobility, etc)
3. OS (Win7, Win8, WinXP, 32 or 64bit, etc)
4. Driver version (13.2, 12.10, etc)
5. Power Supply..list make and model and wattage
6. RAM
7. Did your computer come with the OS and Graphics card you have now?
8. Monitor resolution (native), connected by (DVI, HDMI, etc)


PLEASE POST IN THE CORRECT SUB_FORUM

LAPTOP ISSUES/questions  http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&flcache=5710402&entercat=y

APU ISSUES/questions  http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=483&entercat=y

CROSSFIRE ISSUES/questions  http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=475&flcache=267952&entercat=y

AMD 4000, 3000, 2000, 1000 series cards (and older) ISSUES/questions  http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=449&flcache=6971413&entercat=y

 

 
If you resolved your issue, please say so. You will be helping others.

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/12/2013 07:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Do_omer
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/12/2013

1. AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 3,4 GHz

2. PowerColor AX5850 PCS+ 1GB GDDR5

3. Windows7 Ultimate Service Pack 1

4. 13.4 currenly (other versions ~since winter 2013)

5. Aerocool E85 700W v.2.2

6. DDR3 2048Mb 1333MHz  (x2)

7. Didn't upgrade computer since the time of purchase. Installed OS after it. Formatted HDD about 2 months ago.

8. 1920x1080 now (DVI) and 1024x768 before (VGA-DVI).

Also forgot to write... Anti-virus: Kaspersky Internet Security 13.0.1.4190

I heard the older versions of driver help, but I don't know the needed one. 1 guy wrote that the installation of AMD CCC resolved the issue. As I understand, now it's called "Engine Control Center", so I have it.

 07/12/2013 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6091
Joined: 11/13/2009

Two questions..do you have the required netframework version ....and have you tried a clean install? Have you tried the beta?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



* A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/13/2013 06:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Do_omer
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/12/2013

I had framework4, now updating to 4.5.

>Formatted HDD about 2 months ago.

And installed the latest version for that moment.


I didnt tried beta driver, but used every new version (~since winter 2013).

I will try "clean install" today and then I think there will be no need to extract new ATIKMDAG.sys manually. I did it yesterday with updating the chipset driver using catalyst install manager and device manager to delete the old one.

P.S.
Nothing helped. I've just downloaded and installed  beta and have got BSOD: "DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUA". Games always crash, as usually.



Edited: 07/13/2013 at 04:29 PM by Do_omer
 07/14/2013 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Do_omer
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/12/2013

dxgmms1.sys

 

Nothing helped. Again.

 07/14/2013 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1207
Joined: 07/13/2009

Find and run Memtest86 for several hours to rule out (mostly) a memory problem.

Beyond that, the likely culprit would be a defective graphics card.

 

 07/16/2013 06:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Do_omer
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/12/2013

Does it mean I need to replace the defective memory?



Got much less BSODs and crashes with the beta. But there were not so many ones before with the same version. As a result now I have the same situation as before.

 07/17/2013 05:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Do_omer
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/12/2013

THERE WERE NO MISTAKES 5MINS EARLIER!1111one

I've heard that rubbing the contacts with an eraser can help.
Though I don't understand, how test finds the error in the part of memory I don't have. What's the chance that it is the cause of the problem?

 

 07/19/2013 09:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Do_omer
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/12/2013

So, memory is ok, HDD is ok, OS is ok, everything is ok. I don't believe that Jesus came back and broke my graphic card. I will try 11.2 driver verion.

 07/19/2013 06:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Elite

Posts: 1207
Joined: 07/13/2009

Your memory is manifestly not OK.

Intermittent RAM errors are hard to find, which is why you need to run Memtest86 for hours.  You found errors at two separate locations.  The locations of the errors are just the result of remapping lower address space.

The fact that you didn't hit an error on a later run does not mean your RAM was magically healed.

You have your answer.

 

 09/07/2013 01:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Do_omer
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 07/12/2013

Sorry I didnt write there for a long time. The clean test was when I switched memory slots, but after I got the same error and BSOD accordingly. So now I've bought the new one and have tested it (OK). However since then CPU has overheated 1-2 times (60+) and I thought that is another problem with thermopaste before I got a new BSOD with no error discription. I still hope it's like "***** happens" ><

I'm feeling like I'm talking too much, but there is never perfect :(

Statistics
80986 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.