Topic Title: Upgrading to FX-8350... can I have it without cooler?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/31/2013 02:46 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/31/2013 02:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OldMaster
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/31/2013

Hi,last September I bougth a pc with AMD FX-8120 cpu. I upgraded the cooler because it was very noisy and I've learned it's easy to overclock with this CPU series.Unfortunately I feel my pc is still performing very bad with Planetside 2 which is very CPU-demanding. I'm thinking about upgrading the CPU from FX-8120 to FX-8350. Is it a worth investment? Is that CPU available for sale without the cooler? Buying a new box with another cooler I won't use seems to me a big waste of money.Thanks in advance for your feedback
 07/31/2013 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

That game only recommends a 2.6ghz Phenom II x4 910, I would suggest giving us your system specs first so we can tell you if there is another problem.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 07/31/2013 10:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OldMaster
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/31/2013

Motherboard Gygabyte GA-970A UD3 AM3+

CPU FX-8120 @3.1 Ghz cooled with Thermaltake BigTyp 120

8gb ram

Video card HD7970 3gb catalyst last version 13.5

Win 7 64bit

750W power supply, cooler master case.

My frame rate ranges from 60-70 fps to 20-25 depending on how big is the battle I'm playing. Changing graphics settings does not give significant fps improvements and according to the game CPU is the bottlneck (a small utility on the hud tells players if they're GPU or CPU bound).Common feedback on official PS2 forum is that AMD FX series is just not powerful enough for Planetside 2 in order to grant high frame rate in every situation. Since the game can't make a good use of 8 core technology, the game performs better on a 4 cores with higher clock. Almost everyone suggest to upgrade to Intel because they say those CPUs got higher speed per clock. Before to throw away my motherboard and my CPU I'd like to understand if I can upgrade to more powerful CPU without having to spend hundreds of euros.

I know some shops sell CPUs without cooler, it would be great solution for me since I don't use the stock heatsink.

 07/31/2013 11:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: OldMaster Motherboard Gygabyte GA-970A UD3 AM3+

CPU FX-8120 @3.1 Ghz cooled with Thermaltake BigTyp 120

8gb ram

Video card HD7970 3gb catalyst last version 13.5

Win 7 64bit

750W power supply, cooler master case.

My frame rate ranges from 60-70 fps to 20-25 depending on how big is the battle I'm playing. Changing graphics settings does not give significant fps improvements and according to the game CPU is the bottlneck (a small utility on the hud tells players if they're GPU or CPU bound).Common feedback on official PS2 forum is that AMD FX series is just not powerful enough for Planetside 2 in order to grant high frame rate in every situation. Since the game can't make a good use of 8 core technology, the game performs better on a 4 cores with higher clock. Almost everyone suggest to upgrade to Intel because they say those CPUs got higher speed per clock. Before to throw away my motherboard and my CPU I'd like to understand if I can upgrade to more powerful CPU without having to spend hundreds of euros.

I know some shops sell CPUs without cooler, it would be great solution for me since I don't use the stock heatsink.

I sent you a PM.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/31/2013 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12462
Joined: 04/17/2008

I would say why don't you overclock but your motherboard is pretty crap so that's not going to help...So my advice would be to get a quality 990FX motherboard and overclock that 8210.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/01/2013 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OldMaster
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/31/2013

I usually overclock up to 4.0 Ghz and I get a boost of more or less 10 fps. At the moment I brought frequency back to 3.1 because summer is pretty hot here and I don't like when CPU temperature goes to high (never more than 50°C anyway).I assume that 30 fps in big battle for Planetside 2 is the best I can get out of this CPU. It's not so bad actually.
Statistics
85380 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.