Topic Title: Far Cry 3 black boxes/squares
Topic Summary: I'm getting black squares around Houses and other objects
Created On: 08/06/2013 09:30 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/06/2013 09:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sueberl
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/06/2013

Hi,

 

i know far cry 3 is old but i purchased it from stream these days. I am having an old problem. I get black squares around houses and other objects. I have looked up for a solution in several forums, but they all just suggest to update the driver. And of course i did so, but no change at all. 

My technical specifications:

i7-3630QM 2,40Ghz x8

Radeon HD 7970M

8GB Ram 

enoug storage..

Driver specifications:

CCC Version : 13.8 Mobility Beta

Driver 13.2 

 

Pls anyone with suggestion ? 

 

 08/07/2013 09:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sueberl
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/06/2013

Here is a example of the "black box" 

Black box around house

 08/14/2013 06:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BenEd
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/14/2013

I once had a glitch kinda like this and updating my drivers + getting the latest game patch made it go away, I'm not sure if it was the game or the driver in the end though :/

 08/14/2013 08:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sueberl
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 08/06/2013

thats the thing! 

my drivers are all up to date 

and the games is Version 1.05 so the also the latest ! 

thats the wierd thing here

 08/19/2013 06:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
BenEd
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/14/2013

Oh :s well maybe it's a glitch in the game and it hasn't been patched yet? Does this always happen in the same places in the game or just randomly? I'm still to play Far Cry 3, I also bought it on Steam during the Summer Sale but I've been occupied finishing other games til now, I'll keep an eye out on black boxes if it happens to me too..

edit: I just searched around a bit and it seems like this is quite a common issue! If you google 'far cry 3 shader shadow bug' the first result is a thread on the Ubisoft forums where they have some solutions that worked for some people, you should check those out!

Statistics
84960 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.