Topic Title: Sorry. the camera app can't be used with this version of windows. (Win8)
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/13/2013 09:10 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/13/2013 09:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
b0bsm1th
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/13/2013

Many people have issues with the camera app and skype app on windows 8. 

you may think i'm off topic, but all the people affected have ATI/AMD graphics cards. Here is the link of the issues:

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_8-winapps/camera-app-recive-sorry-the-camera-app-cant-be/91e704e7-0d5b-4664-ac4c-abe9f8c679d0?page=3&tm=1379120980742

On the forum link provided above, on page 3, 4, and 5 i think represents our issues the most.

I don't know whether or not it has to do with AMD or Microsoft, but I think AMD should look into the problem. I hope you guys can help.

Any help is appreciated!

 09/13/2013 09:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Ok nobody wants to read through all that stuff. I use both those apps no problems. So read the Sticky Read Before Posting. So I can look at your setup and please let me know what your Morphological Filter option under 3D Application Settings in the Gaming Tab is set for in your Catalyst Control Center is.

I will check about in about hour and half.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/15/2013 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
b0bsm1th
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/13/2013

Hello, sorry for the late reply.

For the 3D application settings, i have set the following settings in Catalyst control center 13.1:

Morphological settings

Smoothvision hd: Anti-aliasing : Use application settings

Smoothvision HD: Anisotropic Filtering: Use application settings

Catalyst A.I. : Standard Settings

Mipmap Detail Level: High Quality

Wait for vertical refresh: Off unless application specifies

OpenGL settings: Triple Buffering not enabled

System Info:

i5 quad core

Mobility Radeon HD 4300/4500 series

Win 8 64 bit

Catalyst 13.1

 



Edited: 09/15/2013 at 08:50 PM by b0bsm1th
 09/15/2013 08:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Under the Anti-Aliasing, check to make sure that Morphological  Filtering is Off. I have seen this to be a issue.

With the maintenance being done this weekend I just got back in Sunday afternoon between football games.

I verified that with CCC 13.10 that I still can use the various camera apps with Windows 8. All of them worked just fine, so let me know. There is a document that Mark from AMD references. It is at:

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/ResolveCrashingMetroApplications.aspx



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL



Edited: 09/15/2013 at 09:01 PM by WMudrockJr
 09/15/2013 09:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
b0bsm1th
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/13/2013

Thanks for your quick response, but under the smoothvision anti-aliasing, i don't have the choice of turning morphological settings on or off. D:

I checked on the amd website, there is such setting. but i don't have it.

Here is the link of my setting under anti - aliasing

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B6w_VLbtjm5tZVMzQ0N0RDlKclE/edit?usp=sharing

 

 09/15/2013 09:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Don't have access to your docs in google. Must of all my friends here have the same settings as I do.

I do see that HD 4000 is not offically supported under Windows 8. It talks about WDDM is limited to version 1.1.

The latest Windows 8 driver is WDDM 1.2, so this could be your issue.

So you might want to un-install 13.1 and install 12.6 which is the last supported version I could find.

It seems that video cards no matter how good they are beginning to have a shorter and shorter life for support with newer O/S. 

My older boxes with XP and AGP cards are just going to scrap next April.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL



Edited: 09/15/2013 at 09:37 PM by WMudrockJr
 09/15/2013 10:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
b0bsm1th
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/13/2013

I uninstalled the driver, and now it works with the microsoft stock driver.

Thanks again for the response, and now it works too. 

I believe that the WDDM is the issue, and that AMD is too lazy to support the graphics cards. Or maybe hardware limitations?

It's really sad how technology just gets scrapped and ignored very quickly.

My laptop has been around for 3 years, but it's hardware is already considered obsolete :S

Thanks anyways, you solved the issue.

 09/18/2013 02:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kent@AMD
Grinding Levels

Posts: 127
Joined: 01/10/2013

This issue actually revolves around the Metro Tile's use of the display drivers, which is why you would be able to use a program like Skype as a desktop application with your camera, but you won't be able to use the Metro Tile app. For whatever reason, certain webcams (not the graphics cards) are incompatible with the Metro Tiles on Windows 8. I helped a customer with the same issue earlier, and it was the webcam that wasn't supported with Metro Tiles, which is the foundation for the Webcam App. You can see the list of those unsupported cams at: http://logitech-en-amr.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/32436 . The ones with no dots can't be used at all, the ones with Desktop Apps will work for a Desktop applicaiton like Skype, while App Available represents availability for Metro Tiles.

Long-and-short : the GPU can handle the webcam app (we have been able to make it work in our lab), and Windows 8 just has issues with the AMD drivers when using a camera that's not compatible with the Metro Tiles, or the OS in general. Using the basic WDDM driver disables a ton of display features, so the webcam can be used at its most basic settings as well, since the GPU isn't using the Aero/HW acceleration features that are also used by the webcam.



-------------------------
AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.
Statistics
84699 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.