Topic Title: FSX "fatal error occurred" since newer amd drivers released.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/27/2013 09:48 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/27/2013 09:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
math341c
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/27/2013

Since some lastest amd drivers i cant get fsx to work, each time i press on the flight buttom i get the "fatal error occurred" it always worked fine. I have a Gigabyte Radeon 7970 GHZ edition 3 GB GPU. Can you amd please fix it, in a new update? I will not rollback drivers, i need newest drivers for upcoming games?

 09/29/2013 04:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Highlander
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/29/2013

I am having the same trouble. Ever since I upgraded to the new drivers I can't get FSX to work. I am in a virtual airline I need it to work URGENTLY!!!It is a useless upgrade if it stops applications from working.
 09/29/2013 09:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Do a search with fsx, there have been people that have the solution that worked for them.

The other is to drop back to the version that worked and report the issue to AMD.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/29/2013 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
math341c
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/27/2013

Originally posted by: WMudrockJr Do a search with fsx, there have been people that have the solution that worked for them.

 

The other is to drop back to the version that worked and report the issue to AMD.

 

 

Could you please find me the first solution? Because i have seached much, and i cant find something like that ?

 09/29/2013 02:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Problem with driver unit and Flight Simulator X

found it in this forum.

the last two entries:

PW says:

If you are using Catalyst v 13.9 it may be worth uninstalling Catalyst and reverting to an earlier version.

Today AMD support suggested v13.4 to me and so far it appears to have worked - I am still seeing if I can restore the quality graphics I had previously in FSX.

 

Friedolien says:

Yeaaaah,

I love youuu 

I reupdated to Catalyst v13.4 and FSX still working in windowmode.

Thaaaank you very much 



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/30/2013 10:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
math341c
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/27/2013

Originally posted by: WMudrockJr Problem with driver unit and Flight Simulator X

 

found it in this forum.

 

the last two entries:

 

PW says:

 

If you are using Catalyst v 13.9 it may be worth uninstalling Catalyst and reverting to an earlier version.

 

Today AMD support suggested v13.4 to me and so far it appears to have worked - I am still seeing if I can restore the quality graphics I had previously in FSX.

 

 

 

Friedolien says:

 

Yeaaaah,

 

I love youuu 

 

I reupdated to Catalyst v13.4 and FSX still working in windowmode.

 

Thaaaank you very much 

 

 

Emm you still not answered me. I asked you about "Do a search with fsx, there have been people that have the solution that worked for them"

Not "The other is to drop back to the version that worked and report the issue to AMD."

And i will not roll back drivers, i need lastest drivers for new games and upcoming. 

And seriously. I paid about 550 $ for my Gigabyte 7970 ghz edition. And AMD´s job is to fix it so i can play it again. There are not any compatibility settings in ccc or something like that, or just a way to only run a old driver on this game, or something simillar?

 09/30/2013 11:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

Report the issue to AMD and wait for the fix. If you want to play that game then drop back and wait.

So seriously this is a User Forum which are fellow gamers that find work arounds till the issue is fixed. Dropping back isn't going to stop from playing any new games. Like BioShock, TombRaider, Far Car 3, etc.

But that is your choice, so stick with what you want.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/30/2013 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
math341c
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 09/27/2013

Originally posted by: WMudrockJr Report the issue to AMD and wait for the fix. If you want to play that game then drop back and wait.

 

So seriously this is a User Forum which are fellow gamers that find work arounds till the issue is fixed. Dropping back isn't going to stop from playing any new games. Like BioShock, TombRaider, Far Car 3, etc.

 

But that is your choice, so stick with what you want.

 

 

Ok thank you, where can i report this?

 09/30/2013 12:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

For each CCC there are Release Notes, if you page to the bottom of the notes there is a AMD Issue Reporting Form. Each release is unique so do it to the latest 13.9 WHQL or 13.10 Beta. You could even do it for both, but this will bring it to AMD developers that you are having an issue.

Be sure to fill in the form with as much detail as possible. You may or not be contacted for additional information. I have recieved a email letting me know that my issue form was received in the past when I had issues with 13.8 Beta.



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 09/30/2013 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PW
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 08/27/2012

Since my orginal post last week after suffering fatal error crashes with FSX and Catalyst 13.9; AMD's recommendation was to revert to 13.4

I am now using Catalyst 13.4 and have returned to the same impressive stable graphics in FSX (works with both full screen or windowed mode).

I have no idea what may have caused 13.9 to make FSX crash but whatever it was appears not happen with 13.4

Simple sequence, uninstall Catalyst 13.9. (Maybe worth cleaning registry if thought necesary).  Reboot.  Then clean install of Catalyst 13.4.

(I now have best ever graphics in FSX on what is a relatively slow, 6 year old PC; Intel 2.3Ghz dual core processor, 3Gb RAM and HD6670 card; between smooth 20fps and fluid 40fps+ depending on the intensity of the local scenery and AI traffic).

Worth noting - I have made a couple of changes to Catalyst Gaming profile for FSX - I will detail those on request.



Edited: 09/30/2013 at 01:41 PM by PW
Statistics
84125 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.